Sunday, Dec. 05, 2010 10:41 am

December begins

I think these hard stressful weeks at work really take their toll on me. I was feeling sick at work Friday afternoon, certain it was going to hit me on the weekend, but it didn't, so far, thank goodness. I think I went through this same thing 3 weeks ago when it was a very hard stressful week. I hate that I can't take the stress. Honestly, it isn't like a gun is to my head, it is just "stress" and I should be able to handle it.

I bought more vitamins and various anxiety aids yesterday in hopes that this will be a better week. I am going to try to eat better, too, so I'm not shoving a burrito in my mouth with every hunger pain.

The stress began early when I gave a timeline to the salesperson on the big restaurant music project we just got the account on. I am always overselling how quickly I can get things done, so this time I was conservative and gave her a timeline that could have the new music in their restaurant right after Christmas, still not a long timeline at all. The next day the boss calls me in to say "They want it today." What? They can't have it today because of equipment issues, etc. He said, yes, so that meant that they would have it the following Monday (tomorrow) but MY part had to be done TODAY (that day) to accommodate the equipment shipping, etc. So, I had to do it. Monday I should be able to update it, but I'm scared they are already going to find fault with what arrives Monday. We'll see. And I'm not even ready to do the Monday upload either. After I scrambled to release that one, I spent the rest of the week on other urgent programs. I did get the damn NC bar a new Happy Hour program finally.

I need to think about when I want to take time off through the rest of the month.

Talked to my brother-in-law about the cousin from Georgia that was here last week. He understands a lot of her issues more than I do because he is also an alcoholic and he grew up knowing her parent and grandparent and has seen that family dynamic unfold. It is a pretty sick and twisted one, for sure. A lot of neediness and guilt. While she was there for Thanksgiving they were laying on the guilt that she should move back home and help support the family. I think she is supposed to go home to Georgia today. I hope she survives.

What else happened this week? I went out to lunch with Jette, who I hadn't seen in years and years. It was fun. We have that common bond of being longtime bloggers/journalers and she was such an influence on me in those early days, before we came to Austin, that I like hearing what she's up to.

I got our Christmas tree put up (a fake for the first time) last weekend, but that's as far as that has gotten. I didn't buy groceries until yesterday. I wonder where my week went? I did have to type some and I think I went out one night, but my mind is truly a blank. This is weird.

I started a neat little snowball of kindness last night. The cute car hop at the Sonic that I see so often was there yesterday when I had to go up to voicetrack. I asked why she works so much and she said it is her second job and she's trying to pay off student loans while her boyfriend is serving in Afghanistan. I posted that on Facebook and already friends are sending her money from everywhere. I won't send any because I think that would tip her off where it is coming from, but I will start tipping extra each time.

I had to go back to voicetrack again because I got all the way up there Friday night when I was feeling kind of lousy and found that they didn't have any headphones there. They had used them in the El Campo parade as a prop Thursday night and hadn't brought them back. So I tracked blind (well, deaf) and went back yesterday with my own cans and they sounded so awesome I may use them all the time.

I got one report typed last night so just one to complete today and otherwise football and tree decorating and cooking some chili, I think. I thought it was going to be colder today --- and I guess in the 60s is colder than the 80s like yesterday.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland