Sunday, Dec. 04, 2005 11:07 pm

In-laws visiting...

A very pleasant evening with the in-laws. I'm enjoying their visit.

It sure turned cold and blustery today after being 85 degrees yesterday. I had a remote out in Bastrop. We were inside, fortunately, but it was a slow remote without many people stopping by. But, we didn't have much to offer and car dealerships make for bad remotes all the time. Just glad to make it through it.

I went to the Walmart in Bastrop and marveled at how many people knew one another in that town. Every aisle I turned down I would hear people greeting one another like old friends. I think if we lived in a small town we would still be strangers. You have to either have kids in school or go to church to develop those relationships, I'm afraid. I guess I will continue to live in our anonymous big city.

I bought a bunch of stuff at Walmart, mostly in prep for this visit. A pretty Norfolk pine with red ribbons, a wreath, Christmas coffee mugs, wine glasses, a mattress pad. Just stuff. Turned out to be expesnives stuff, but just stuff.

Went on from there to the Waffle House for the journal group. I wish I could have stayed a while, it was getting good when I had to leave. I was so glad to see Tim join us again. It has been a long time and I was glad to see him back with his journal on austin-stories.com and glad he was with us again. And found out his grandparents live in the same small town my best college friend is from. I will have to see if she knows them. Well, she would HAVE to, it's that small.

Had to run off from that group to come home and clean. Mark had done a lot during my absence, but I tackled the kitchen and got it in good shape. He had the bedroom and bath looking like a bed and breakfast. Just lovely.

They arrived just after dark and we went to eat at the Mexican joint closest by. The service was bad tonight, but the food was great. We ate and then went up to 37th street to walk down it and experience the light pandemonium. Great fun. I think there will be lots more lights by Christmastime, but it was already great. We went by Starbucks for a warmup and then came home.

My step-mother-in-law used to be my writing teacher and coach so we talked books for a good long while. We discussed this listener/friend of mine that has written two books that she has given me. Both, though interesting, are full of problems that I think a good editor would have found. My s-m-i-l says they appear to be vanity press publications. I really hadn't thought about that since they are nice books, but that makes sense. Some sense anyway.

So now the in-laws have gone to bed and I won't be far behind them. Tomorrow I have to work, but Mark will entertain them somehow. Tomorrow night I'll take them to the east side for a really eye-opening experience.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland