Sunday, Dec. 31, 2006 4:15 pm

2006 Ends

I was shocked... shocked I tell you... when I looked and saw that I didn't write yesterday? I wonder why I didn't? I need a timer to go off on my watch to remind me or something. I had nothing else to do yesterday, I don't know why I didn't write.

Now I can't really write because I've got cornbread in the oven I need to check on. I've got black-eyed peas (mainly for tomorrow, but I've already been eating on them) and some olibollen going (Dutch New Year's Eve tradition). Mark will be home soon for a nap, dinner, and then he'll go out for his gig that I'm skipping.

Yesterday was a day of non-accomplishment. I had high expectations of really tackling this office and cleaning, but Mark got home from SA earlier than expected and he was taking a nap so I let him sleep. I watched UT play in the Alamodome and kept quiet. Today hasn't been much better in the accomplishment category. Why don't I add it to my new year's resolutions list that I suck at being organized and I am just going to accept it?

My sister wrote yesterday that she has been pissy and cranky. I wrote her that I have been too and I think it is part of grieving. I was certainly better yesterday once I was away from work. There were plenty of things to continue to make me pissy at work Friday.

When I got to work, the office was already closed for the weekend so I was, thankfully, mostly alone. There was a message on my office phone from a guy that kept referring to our promotions girl by her wrong name and he said he was bringing an artist by to be on my show on Tuesday. No way! I didn't think my promo girl would do that without my permission. He also mentioned buying advertising for this gig. I called the salesman he claimed to be buying from and that turned out to be a lie. He tried to buy advertising on Friday afternoon for the weekend? No way! So that was a lie so I figured he was playing one of us against the other, making me feel obligated because he had bought spots or the girl had promised him something. So I got brave and called him back and told him that it was not going to happen. Man, it was like dealing with a telemarketer. How many times do I have to say no! He claimes the guy if from Austin and has a huge hit in England and country station everywhere are playing his new songs. I told him all of that went for dozens of artists in Austin that I don't let on my show for no good reason. I finally got him off of the phone and couldn't even find a website for the guy he's repping. And he's playing a bar we seldom (ever?) work with and he's sharing the bill with very non-country, not even Americana, artists. I think these folks just got wind that we play local music and thought that would be there in.

Then I was irritated with a local manager that had emailed wanting his big name artist and a newcomer to be on my show. Then Friday he emailed and, oops!, he'd forgotten that the big name wasn't in town, so only the newcomer was coming by. I think he knew that I would have said no to just the newcomer, so he bait-and-switched me. I am going to be super cautious in the new year about how often I have artists and which ones get to be on my show.

I finally got my Christmas card letter written so I'm working on getting those out this week. Mostly the envelopes are addressed. I just need to get the picture printed and get some more stamps. Not much to do.

I need to call a couple of friends. I haven't heard from them since Christmas so I think something must be up and wrong. That's not like them. Kitty and Rocky were the best at checking in on my while Dad was sick and then when he died, but I haven't talked to them since. Weird.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland