Saturday, Dec. 31, 2005 8:25 pm

Happy Bored NYE

I am currently experiencing the most boring New Year's Eve of my life. I keep feeling like I should do something to make it more interesting, but how rude is it to walk out on your husband to go out and do something on New Year's Eve? I'm doing laundry and drinking wine in an effort to "do" something, but so far I am still just bored and there are three and a half hours to go until 2006.

I worked my tail off yesterday. I went to do a remote up north at a car dealership. The prize whore George beat me there because another station was already there. But he'd had his pizza and barbeque and prizes from them already so he came over to be our friend even before we'd begun our remote. Oh joy. He stayed the entire fucking two hours, too. Good Lord I was tired of that man. We had lots of listeners because we had a nice prize of a Rose Bowl t-shirt that everyone wanted. I met many very nice listeners that I enjoyed talking to. But I did wear out my voice. I was so tired when I dashed back to work.

I had to run in and go straight on the air, too, which was exhausting. My shift ended early with a basketball game, fortunately. But then I really began work. I did logs for the weekend and had to add lots of music because it is the low commercial season and we just have NO commercials on the air this weekend so we needed more music. I thought I never was going to get out of the station.

I finally finished at 10:15 and left and went to see the band one last time for the year. It was fun. I wished the kitchen had still been open because I had been craving some nachos, but it wasn't so I made do with leftover chips on our table (from my friends that were already there) and a margarita. The band was fun and it was nice to relax a minute.

Came home, worn out and went to bed. Mark went on out with the boys to a couple of other bars and to see Dale one last time (for now) at the Continental Club.

Today he had to jump up and go help with a trailer. We discussed a couple of times today when/if we would "do" something this weekend. He gets a little hot and says "I can spend two days just laying around watching movies!" I remind him he's never in his life even spent one day laying around watching movies. I offered this afternoon to let him take care of all these chores he says are haunting him and we can go to dinner and a movie tonight. Instead, we go eat pizza for lunch and then he suggests a movie. But at that time we were between starts and that couldn't happen. So we come home and nap and then when we are up and around and bored again he says "How about a movie?" but of course, it is between times again. I think he knows that when he offers (or is that mean of me?). So now we've been flipping TV channels for two solid hours and I know tomorrow he is going to claim that we have spent time together and now is when he is going to do his chores.

This New Year's Eve just may top the one I spent with my parents in my late 20s/early 30s where we sat and watched TV for hours and then they went to bed and I sat up drinking old wine. Whoopee. That was a fun one.

I hope tomorrow when I look back on this I go "Wow, things sure changed after that!"...


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland