Thursday, Dec. 30, 2004 11:09 pm

Countdown to the New Year

I've been working on this countdown all week.... culling interviews and finding special audio of events through the year, etc. It was going to be very special. Tonight I started really finishing it up and had to drop feature after feature because there wasn't enough time! Amazing how three hours can fill up so fast. I didn't have a great voice to record with, but I got it all into the can and it will air tomorrow night from 9 to midnight.

What will not air is my remote from the fire hall. I didn't even find out I had the thing until Tuesday this week. I was okay with it because it was just a remote and not a countdown (last year was a nightmare) and I could leave and come on home at 9 pm. Today I didn't see the remote on the log so I sent out the red flags and the saleswoman came back and I found out it was only going to be an appearance, not a remote (where you don't do anything on the air, you are just there). That's fine, I said, we can just to the appearance. Then I thought and said, "But I am getting paid for this, right?" No, I was not. That was when I said I wasn't going to do it. If anybody had asked me before Christmas, set this up and let me know that I would be sacrificing my New Year's Eve for a dull party at a fire hall for no pay, I might have said okay. But with the late notice and then to find out there is no pay, no way! Maybe that's my new motto for 2005 "No pay? No way!"

I don't know where the communication gap came in, but I let the boss know and then sent him an email on it because he wants to follow up on Monday, but I will be home right after my airshift tomorrow. I bought groceries today so we can actually have a nice meal for New Year's. The whole thing makes me mad. I bend over backwards all the time to be "nice" and help out and I do all the station things anyway, I don't know why they decide to take advantage of my niceness.

I worked late tonight on the countdown and other things and then went to the grocery so I got home late and ate late. Now I'm going to go to bed early.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland