Wednesday, Dec. 27, 2006 10:47 am

Mid-week malaise

I really will get back and finish out the week at Mom's one of these days. Mark has just left for his multi-day gig in San Antonio, so I should have a little more alone time to do such things. But then, I am spending tomorrow with B! because she is in town to see me and I am really looking forward to that, too.

Something I don't like: E-cards that aren't funny, to begin with. But I really hate these e-cards that REQUIRE you to decorate the tree or some inside the house or something. Just show me the damn finished card, dammit. I don't have the patience to play a little artsy-fartsy game on the internet unless there is money involved. Some 60-year-old crafter invented those things and now other 60-year-old crafters impose them on the rest of us.

My sister is still bringing up the malpractice suit that she wants to bring against one of Daddy's surgeons. I told her in email that I don't want to do that. She hasn't answered. I am in favor of filing complaints with the Doctor BBB or something, but I think a lawsuit that would require effort and money and time and bad memories would be futile. And it sure wouldn't make Daddy any better. She wants to prevent him from hurting other people, which is magnanimous, but I think there are other ways. And maybe he does know how to do the lap band procedure perfectly, or whatever it is that he specializes in. Maybe she can just educate cancer patients to go find the very best surgeon, not just the best surgeon in their zip code.

Work yesterday was hella-boring. Almost nobody there. I did have a panic moment (well, panic thirty minutes) when I couldn't get my mic on the air. I didn't know if I had forgotten how to DO things after being off for ten days or what. I could record, but I wasn't on the air. Everything else was on the air, the mic was working. What was wrong? The 90-year-old engineer is a sweet man, but no good at figuring things out. And he sure wasn't about to come help me. I called the guy that had been on before me to see if he had been live at all, to see if this had been an issue earlier. He clued me into the computer switch that was in the wrong place. It is impossible to tell that it is wrong unless you go to look at a certain place. That hadn't dawned on me, so that was the key. Whew. Glad to be on the air.

Today I will need to do some extra work because I won't be there tomorrow. Last night I sure didn't want to stay past 7 p.m. Maybe I can get some stuff done before I go on the air today. Yesterday I spent too much time opening mail and answering emails. I just wish I could stay home.

And President Ford died last night. Sad.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland