Monday, Dec. 27, 2004 10:52 am

A New Year Looms

It bothers me a lot that I am anxious about my work. I used to love my job and everything about it. Now, with the good boss gone, the inmates are running the asylum and I feel out of control in many ways. And with my voice not cooperating, I don't feel like I even have it to depend on. It is a scary feeling as we face this new year.

These thoughts came up as I read my company email this morning. Nothing particularly alarming there, it just makes me tense. And a phone call from the station this morning at 6 a.m. (that I didn't hear or answer) bothers me too. For the sake of the kid running things at 6 a.m. I wish I had heard it and helped him, but since that is not my job I want him to call someone else. I wonder what the problems was? See? I don't want to be involved, but I want all the details.

The days after Christmas are always more like the beginning of a new year than the real new year next week. This is the week I will get my house in order, start my new handwritten diary and calendars and datebooks, and try to start some good habits for the new year.

I don't know if I ever got around to New Year's Resolutions last year or not. I am already thinking of it this year. I want to eat a piece of "real" fruit every day. Fresh fruit is the word, I guess. I tried that last year and then got on the Atkins diet and got away from it. Real fruit every day.

And I want to be kinder. I want to remember birthdays and occasions and have the gifts and cards to people on time instead of months later (if ever). I need to start with the cards for my step-mother-in-law and her birthday next week.

I'm glad the sun is shining and this is a beautiful day. I'm glad the maids are coming today to get the house cleaned of pine needles and broken ornaments. Tonight I will be home alone and I can think through some of these new year thoughts and "get organized." I've been teased about my "get organized" resolutions before and I don't expect that I will stay organized every day of the New Year, but maybe I can start with some semblance of order.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland