Saturday, Dec. 26, 2009 11:37 am

Post-Christmas

Post Christmas and I am totally unmotivated. But at least there is nowhere I HAVE to be today, except up to voicetrack at some point.

Things have brightened considerably since I last wrote, at least. Financially, the radio station check did arrive slowly, but next month I will just set my jaw and not expect it until past mid-month and not count on it for anything.

The good doctor sent my big check for a lot of work but added about an extra month's salary on it as a bonus. I was totally in shock. I called him and asked if there was an error in accounting. He said, no, he just wanted us to have a Merry Christmas. Such a sweet wonderful man. I still haven't gone through the finances to see where we stand and what needs to be paid now, but as soon as that check was in and cleared, I did pay the cat medical bills that were due soon. There are still more, but now we got a nice Christmas check from my mother that will help us with the next round of payments due.

We did have a lovely, restful Christmas at home and that was nice. It is so rare to have a day where nothing has to be done at all. We ate, napped, watched TV, read books, checked our Facebook and email from time to time, and called some family on the phone. A very nice day. And then today is Saturday! That's such a bonus.

I did get some homeopathic meds from Rocky so maybe they are helping my mood some. I with they were pills, but they are drops that are hard to time. They have to be separate from one another and separate from coffee and mint (like toothpaste, I assume) so there are timing issues. But I am taking them when I think of it and something seems to be helping.

I may go buy a Christmas tree today while they are cheap and maybe still a little big of selection. I would have liked to have had one this year, but it all seemed too much of an effort. I must say I am glad today that I don't have un-decorating to do.

One thing I did do in abundance this Christmas was cook. I made mincemeat cookies and sent some to mother and gave some to our security guard at work. I made two batches of fudge-- one was bad though, too cooked. I made Chex mix and tiger butter (it was gone two weeks ago). I made rolls yesterday. I ordered lunch from HEB and had a turkey, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, stuffing, and gravy. It was all very good. Cranberry sauce, too, which was nice for me.

Thursday, Christmas Eve, I did go to work and cleaned out my cubicle good and got things filed where they needed to be in the drawers. I hope being a little more organized will help me this week. Lots to be done to launch these new formats on January 11.

We may go get a new TV today. Seems crazy with the financial situation we are in, but it would be a nice Christmas present from my mother and she'd get to enjoy it if she comes down for football, too. Our picture isn't contained within the screen anymore and big flat TVs are more reasonably priced now so we may do that.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland