Tuesday, Dec. 26, 2006 12:48 pm

Back to work

Okay, I need to get back into the habit of daily updating. I don't have time to go back and continue about the funerals and the week. I will get to that.

For now, we drove back from Dallas yesterday afternoon. We hoped that there wouldn't be a lot of traffic on Christmas afternoon, but there was a lot of travelers. Jack in the Box and Burger King and Starbucks appeared to be the only places open (along with Denny's and a few like that). We dashed right on home, listening to the Cowboys the last hour. I turned their game on at home, but they were losing and we wanted a nap so we slept. Sort of. I've had so much caffeine this past week and yesterday I don't know when I'll sleep normally again.

Mark played his Monday night on the eastside. When I first got there it felt like it did back in the early early days. Me and one other guy were the only white people. But more crowd did come in and it was good. They quit a little early because it was considerably deader than usual. I visited with the waitress/door girl that is always there. She is hard to understand, but I got the idea that her husband is in jail. So sad. He was arrested for a DUI hit and run that killed a man in September and is up for homicide charges. I read online that he had two previous DIUs, too, so that doesn't sound promising. I felt sorry for her having a Christmas with her husband in jail.

I was a little miffed at Mark because I came home and cooked him something to eat and he didn't come home for more than two hours! He was just up there visiting, but he wasn't answering his phone and I didn't know where he was. I thought I was going to have to get in the car and go hunt him.

But my sister had more reason to be mad at her husband yesterday. They went to the Cowboy game and the traffic was terrible. They had special parking, but they couldn't find it and they were stuck in traffic and then someone hit her car. Finally, her antsy husband and the boys got out and hiked to the stadium, leaving her to fight traffic and hopefully find parking. She eventually did and got into the game, but she was about ready to give up and go home. I don't think Mark would ever abandon me like that.

So, today it is back to work. I've done a lot of work while I was gone on logs, so I don't have to worry too much about them. I don't really know what I need to worry about today. I've tried not to think about work too much. I'll take it as it comes today.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland