Friday, Dec. 24, 2004 10:08 am

Christmas Eve Divorce

Christmas Eve Gift!

There must be more divorces caused by Christmas than any other day of the year. Does that sound reasonable? I was ready for one (or murder) last night.

I came home and cooked more fudge and cornbread (for dressing) and a pecan pie. Mark was on the phone and doing computer stuff.

Then I started wrapping presents. Mark went into the kitchen to do something...next thing I know he is cleaning out the cabinets! He's rearranging the drugs and medicines! He's refolding the kitchen towels! He's cleaning under the sink.

I hold my tongue and wonder when he is going to wrap his presents and do the things we need to do for this trip!

I finish my wrapping and check on him and he's cleaning the grooves around the novel of the faucet. He's declaring he's going to throw away the sink drain thingy because "we never use it." Honey, I use it every time I wash dishes by hand. If you don't use it you can't stop up the sink and if you don't use it, food will go down that side and stop up the sink. He couldn't see any reason or logic in that argument.

I got my things wrapped and got my clothes ready for the suitcase and went to bed. I don't know how much later he came to bed.

I was truly zonked this morning. Usually when the cat starts torturing me I get up and feed him or at least shut them out of the bedroom. This morning I just put a pillow over my head and ignored him for a long, long time. I think he finally started in on Mark and Mark put him out.

So, I'm full of bitching on the cold cold 27 degree morning and we're leaving in an HOUR to go have a pleasant Christmas Eve lunch with friends and hit the road. I'd better just take Xanax now and make it possible.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland