Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2004 8:28 am

Strange friendship

I am up early to continue plowing through the amount of work that has to be done TODAY. Now I find out that the office is closed tomorrow, too, so that puts more of a rush on it. Yesterday, Cotton asks for this and that to be done so he can get out of town. How about me, buddy, I'd like to get out of town too!

Frustrating day yesterday. I got to the office and did some of the work that needed to be done. I was overwhelmed and grabbing what I needed to go to work at the park for the day and left... forgetting the important computer backup that would let me continue at the park. Augh augh double augh. No one to send to get it and I couldn't find anyone at the station available to bring it to me. Rather than waste the afternoon (and be bored out of my mind)... I redid the work I had done and then continued from there. And I got a lot done, sort of. That's why I'm up so early. There is so much more to do.

Broadcasting at the park was fine. My voice was shot, but we survived. Since I had this other work to do I was busy.

The weird event of the day was dinner with the sometimes creepy photographer. He called Monday and said I "HAD" to go out with him Tuesday or Wednesday to do something fun that I would enjoy. I didn't feel like I had much choice so I said Tuesday, just to get it over with. So Tuesday he calls and tells me "You decide where we go to dinner." Okay, now dinner is a part of this. I have no clue how long this is going to take, Mark's sitting at home waiting on me (ha), and I am in no mood for much fun at all, but really not with this friend. I get back to the station to meet up with him, but I make him come in and sit while I finish up even more work.

Finally we can leave and I suggest Macaroni Grill. We go there and I am still patiently (ha) waiting for him to let me in on this "big night." Finally he says that I am obviously not up for the night he'd planned. We're not going to do it. What he wanted to do was take me to the singalong piano bar on Sixth.

Oh, thank you Jesus, for not making me have to tell him where to stick his piano bar. I'm so glad he was smart enough to realize that that was the LAST place on earth I wanted to be last night. Maybe ever. I have had fun in a piano bar, but that was a long time ago. I'm just not the spontaneous person I used to be, especially not with someone other than my husband on the busiest week of the year.

So, we ended up having a nice dinner and he told me how much he appreciated me for many things... and I was very happy to get to go home. Strange strange night. Strange friendship.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland