Tuesday, Dec. 21, 2004 11:23 am

Christmas Rush

I am envious of people that are able to relax and enjoy this holiday season. There is a show at the Paramount tomorrow night that I would like to go to. I'd like to go and eat dinner downtown and have coffee at Starbucks and then stroll over and enjoy the show. Maybe have a drink after at the Stephen F. It sounds so relaxed and Austin-y and Christmas.

But, I have no date and I have no time. I will be on the air tomorrow, of course, so I would have to rush to get over there and I know I would be thinking about all the things that need to be done and I wouldn't enjoy it like I'd like to.

And it isn't just the show. I've talked to friends that work for schools and they are through for the winter break and they are baking cookies and shopping and wrapping presents and enjoying this down time.

Me? I'm already panicking at how much work has to be done before I can leave the station on Thursday night for three days. My co-worker is taking off tomorrow through next week sometime and I know he is going to leave things undone... he always does.

We had the client Christmas party downtown. It was nice, but none of the clients that I really like (oh, there were a couple) and that really strange singer/songwriter/photographer was there lurking. I don't know why he there... he just creeps me out a lot. I want to just say to him "Please don't come near me. Don't speak to me. Don't reach for my hand and DON'T YOU DARE HUG ME!" Ick.

Today I broadcast at the park. My voice is not up to it, really, and I had a dear listener nice enough to call yesterday and tell me how awful I sounded. Thank you for your support, asshole. But, I have a good producer and engineer working with me and I will manage. And there will be lots of downtime while I'm there and I hope I can get a lot of work done on my laptop while I'm there not being bothered.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland