1999-12-22 00:20:15

Catchup

You may have to forgive spelling errors and incoherancy on this one (as opposed to others where you can ridicule me to your heart's content). It's after midnight and I'm still at work and I'm a walking zombie. I have only done nine shifts, yesterday I did twelve, but I think I've hit the brick wall for the night. Soon I will walk over to Speakeasy and see the band for a little while before I go home. I would go home now but I have no vehicle (yes, I suppose there ARE cabs in Austin). My car's clutch went out yesterday. Let's see, last month it was the motor mounts and the boots (I didn't even know it had feet). The month before it was... I forget. This summer it was the air conditioning and let's not forget the two times it has left me stranded since we moved to Austin. One was at 1 in the morning on the first weekend that the hubby was out of town on a gig and I was in a strange grocery store in my new town and the battery blew up under the hood. Yes, with about $100 worth of frozen foods in the back seat. I love my little car but I think I will soon have to put it out of its (and my) misery.

I haven't caught up here after a wonderful day yesterday. Despite the freezing rain that was falling I had a great Christmas-y day. We met our friends, er, uh, Grace and Mac and their adorable baby, Sam, for lunch at Hut's. Great lunch and great conversation. We adore the fact that these new parents are casual with their sweet child. I have another baby I am quite attached to and her mother has a siezure over every thing the child does, i.e. the child touches the back of the restaurant booth and the mother explains the evolution of germs and how they are transmitted from you hands to your mouth inadvertantly. You think I'm kidding.

After our happy fivesome lunch we split and went our separate ways. Grace and I went to the Armadillo bazarre. I'd heard that I had to go and everyone was right. It was a lot of fun and gave me lots of inspirational ideas. I even found a perfect gift for D-boy. I guess I can tell YOU, can't I? He played at Willie's Fourth of July picnic in 1995--the first year the picnic was at Luckenbach. It was a wonderful day for us both and a great experience for him as a musician. We somehow did not get a poster from that day and he's been looking for one ever since. He will certainly not be expecting it for Christmas, which makes it even more fun to give him.

Ran into my friend, Perfect C, with her sister and niece at the bazarre. It wasn't accidental, we met up on purpose. Wished we had had more time to visit, she is the coolest. I may see her tomorrow. If I haven't explained Perfect C.'s name before, I will soon. Not tonight.

Today we got one vehicle, the new one, out of the shop. We drove the Honda, haltingly, to the shop about a mile from the house and walked home in the cold morning winds. It should be fixed tomorrow. I'm just happy we have the '51 Olds. That has become our most reliable vehicle. We took it to lunch and the post office today. (it didn't eat much and was too bulky to mail...)

Dear co-worker Drew (hey! that's his real name!) drove me to work. He is such a cool fun guy. I really like him. He liked D-boy even more than before after he and his girlfriend dropped by the house to get me. D-boy showed Drew a picture in his high school annual where he's dressed and made-up to look like Peter Criss of KISS. Drew is a huge KISS fan---saw them for the first time when he was four years old! He flipped out over the pic. Drew was Gene Simmons for Halloween.

I think my antecedents are all over the place in that preceding paragraph. It's Drew that has the girlfriend, not my husband, etc. Figure it out on your own. I'm walking to Kinko's and see if they have Christmas paper (I ordered the cards today) and then on to Speakeasy. Hope I don't fall asleep on a table. Maybe I'll just crawl into the backseat of the truck and sleep.

Adios, mis amigos y amigas, manana...

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland