Sunday, Dec. 19, 2004 1:31 pm

Gift Griping

I'm getting a slow start to this Sunday. I hope it is as productive as yesterday.

I have a gripe about gift-giving that I hope my friends will take to heart: Don't give me gifts that are a hassle! I'd rather have someone give me a sweater I'll never wear, but they put some thought and love into buying it, than a gift that requires something from me! I hate gift certificates, for instance. I still have a Barnes and Noble gift card I got in March that I haven't used. Not that I haven't bought a ton of books since then, I just haven't been to B&N. It requires effort. I'm not big on effort.

I got a gift yesterday that required a lot of effort. A friend surprised me with a $10 gift certificate to iTunes. Neat because I have wanted to investigate iTunes a little further. So I go to the site and discover I have to sign up before I can use the gift certificate. And I have to give them a credit card number before I can use the service...even though I have $10 ready to spend. Then, the site was so user-unfriendly! I would click on "buy and download music" and it would take me to a page with no search box, nothing to indicate how to DO this. I finally managed to buy a song or two, but then I'd get away from that page and again I wouldn't be able to easily find where to buy the music! Aggravating. I still have a few bucks available to buy music with, but I did buy Please Come Home for Christmas by the Eagles. And I couldn't find the feature where you are able to listen to 30 seconds of a song so I bought the live version of Please Come Home, which is not what I wanted. Errrrrrr. You aren't supposed to look a gift horse in the mouth, but when that becomes your mouth to feed and take care of, it becomes a big hassle sometimes!

Today I hope to do some more Christmas-y preparations. More cards, wrapping, etc. I could make gingerbread men, too, if I'd get going. I did make a nice lunch of brisket and rolls and corn that we sat down at the table and ate. That's a rarity.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland