Saturday, Dec. 18, 2004 9:20 pm

Quiet day in December

What a beautiful day... everything that is good about Austin in December: Bright sunshine, a slight chill in the air, but nothing that requires a jacket unless you're out in an open breeze, roses still blooming even though we've had a freeze and the lantanas are black, neighbor boys playing ball in the street and yelling "Time"... "You can't call time"... "Yes, the ones on bikes can call time" and on and on. A great day in beautiful South Austin.

I am glad we had a freeze this early in the year. It is a lot more fun to garden and cut down the dead plants now than it is in February when you are sick of winter and are ready for spring. I cut back all the big plants... Lantana and fire bushes and sage. That left big piles of brush that I just piled in the backyard. I hope it gives little birdies shelter through the winter (but not little micies I hope).

My arms are so scratched and sore now. I need to put on some more neosporin. I really cut them up good. And I'm sore. I will be very sore tomorrow, but it was a good way to spend an afternoon. Nice to have that kind of time.

Yesterday I spent another day not speaking on the air. I talked to the nurse from the doctor's office to find out that the barium swallow showed mostly good things: No tumors, for instance. She said rest probably wouldn't help my voice, it would just take time. I hope I can talk on Monday (normally). I was glad to have the extra time in my office to work on logs. With our new system things went way haywire on the weekend logs so I spent a lot of time putting things where they belonged.

I cleaned my office a little bit, too. My co-worker is a slob. And a piler. And, of course, we've ended up sharing the office with the morning show which wasn't part of the deal. My area has been shrinking and shrinking. I cleaned up what I could and put a lot of his stuff over on his side of the room. I'd love to box it up and put in the dumpster and say "Whoops."

I've been working on Christmas cards tonight again. I think there are still lots to go, but I've gotten a lot of the important ones done and that feels good.

Had a nice email visit last night with the CGP. He's had shoulder surgery again so he is homebound and loopy. I love those long conversations. Better than a phone call anyday.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland