1999-12-17 Friday afternoon 14:44:20

Dressed up with no place to go

I'm sitting here all dressed up waiting for my car to come home so I can go to work. I should eat something but there doesn't seem to be anything that sounds good in the house. I'll probably continue to starve and then stuff myself when I get to my party tonight.

My new Spice Girl shoes are in the car trunk so I haven't tried them on to see how they look with the new dress yet. The dress is hot (and I mean that literally). It is a long velvet black slinky thing with a red and black velvet jacket. My hair is all poofy and the makeup looks good. I will probably have flat hair and runny makeup by party time tonight but at least I'll be able to squeeze in a couple more shifts at work. The more work I do today, the less I'll have to do over the weekend.

My car is out running around because the new SUV is in the shop having some little things corrected. It may stay there all weekend. Hubby goes to Dallas tomorrow and can ride with the band and doesn't need it until Monday or Tuesday. Of course, he needed transportation today and has my Honda and I am shoeless and transportation-less. That is, unless I fire up the '51 Oldsmobile. That would be a fun ride to the party. I don't think I'd want to attempt to get it around the big corners in my company's parking garage. It doesn't have power steering and you have to start turning a half a block before the corner.

I wrapped three presents this morning. I haven't put tags and I don't have any ribbons, but they are wrapped. One year I did the whole Martha Stewart thing. I had absolutely gorgeous expensive paper on every package and wrapped them with brown twine and attached pine branches and pinecones and little ornaments. They really were beautiful and works of art. Sure a lot of trouble though for them to be unwrapped and discarded. Haven't done it since.

Just an observation for those of you who were with me when I was introduced to the wonderful Texpresso Alamocha (thank you Matt!). I still walk down Congress and get one ocassionally but since the Starbucks has the Eggnog Latte that is so fabulous (thank you Kramer!) I've been enjoying those this month. Last night I decided to branch out and be adventurous and I had the Starbucks Cafe Mocha. Does not hold a candle to the Alamocha--or the Eggnog Latte, for that matter. So, continue to enjoy the Alamocha at Texpresso (and the people there are so friendly!) and the Eggnog Latte through Christmas at Starbucks. I always have to ask them to make them extra hot, though. Otherwise they are lukewarm before I sip and cold before I get back to the office.

Frustration with food yesterday. I hadn't had lunch so I decided I had to go to Schlotsky's, across the street, before they close at 5:30. It aggravates me that they close so early. The only other really fast choice that close is Wendy's and that is a last resort for me. I headed to Schlotsky's and they had a sign on the door that for that day, and that day only, they were closing at five. I ended up with a bagel and the mocha at Starbucks for my only meal of the day. Not particularly healthy or satisfying. An oniony-garlicky bagel with a chocolatey-milky coffee is close to gross.

Maybe I should go round up something to eat here so I don't face that dilemma this afternoon. And I sure don't want to be walking down Congress in Spice Girl shoes and a velvet dress.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland