Monday, Dec. 15, 2003 11:47 pm

Working After All

I ended up working today, as I thought I might. To give Cotton credit, he didn't ask me to work. I was checking in to make sure my replacement knew some things to do and I found out that Cotton himself was going to fill in. I really didn't want to subject my listening audience to that. He is a basic enough disc jockey, but his sense of humor is so dry that it shatters in the breeze. I told him I'd do it and I did.

Sad part is that I have no life. When I don't have work to do, I don't know what to do with myself. Today was a great example. I thought about going out to a movie, but then work just made more sense to me. Maybe because I was alone and hadn't made any concrete plans before.

One thing I learned, though. When I thought I had the day off, I went to the grocery and did a bunch of things at home. Things I would not have done if I had had work looming ahead of me. I need to realize that those hours before work are open to be used!

Tonight I did go to a movie. Since I had missed the afternoon movie, I treated myself to seeing Something's Got To Give with Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson. Not great. I enjoyed watching Diane Keaton and always like her, but she was a little over the top and I thought the situation was a little over the top, too. Any woman who has been hurt and has been alone would not fall into a relationship with that kind of gusto and I don't think the man's side of things was very realistic either. Me? I got some serious thinking to do about Keanu Reeves now. He still isn't much of an actor, but he is awfully cute and I've never known that before.

And I've never seen so many BOOMS hanging into the shot as I did in this movie. Must have had a quick shoot, no do-overs, budget. I usually am not one to notice too much of those type mistakes, but this one was chock full in the early scenes. Maybe later, too, but I was more engrossed in the story by that time.

The house is delightfully clean tonight. I love maids. I am enjoying it. I love my house. I love being home alone, just me and the computer. I will be doing some work momentarily, but I wanted to get this day's entry in the can so I can boast in my head about my faithfulness.

Listening to Los Lonely Boys. Did you hear they are about to sign something line a seven album deal? Very deserving. They are great musicians.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland