Sunday, Dec. 14, 2008 12:15 am

More time at the hospital

They weren't able to do the surgery yesterday because the GI doctor had a Christmas party to go to. Seriously. They finally got to it today, though, an hour and a half late, but they did it and it went well. She was feeling so miserable before surgery with a 103 degree temp. The gallbladder was inflamed and infected and swollen and they got it out and everything seems to be doing well. She was feeling better after the surgery than she has felt in days and that was a very good thing.

It was a very tiring day for us. The friend didn't come to "participate" but our cousins all did. We love them and loved that they cared enough to come and we really enjoyed the time with them, but it was very very tiring! And we were already tired. They all left as she was in recovery. Honestly, I don't know why people come to see someone sick in the hospital. One couple did just come to sit with us during the surgery, but the other was in the room while she was writhing in pain. As tired as we were, I knew she was really tired from the company.

I hope she gets to go home tomorrow, but even if she goes home tomorrow I will stay at least another day. I need to make sure she doesn't get sick and that she can get around and get to her dining room, etc. I know her place can arrange for her meals to come to her room for a while if they need to.

I did swear this morning to get my papers in order. We went to her house to get her power of attorney and living will. We didn't find them and it turns out they weren't even there, but that is something that needs to be where people will know where it is if it is needed. I swear we are going to get our wills done this week. Seriously.

My older nephew is coming home tonight, but he has gone to see a friend. I hope I will see him tomorrow. He is still in finals at school, but doesn't have another one until Tuesday so he came on home. I'm glad he did.

I will go to sleep on this less-than-ideal bed. I miss my kitties and husband and home. This is hard! But I miss Mom being home, too. I want her to be a phone call away and readily accessible.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland