Thursday, Dec. 14, 2006 11:15 am

I need Zen

Wow, if I thought I was bummed yesterday morning, I had no idea what was waiting for me at work! Now I'm really dreading today!! Got there yesterday and the receptionist tells me that one of our two main programming-type engineers, the guys who put the equipment together for our live music broadcasts and make sure the kids know what they are doing on the other live broadcasts---- was fired by this same insane crazy woman! What is she thinking? She got the two engineers moved to be under her department and then fired him. He's been there something like 15 years and is one of those people that is ALWAYS on top of his job. Never messes up, never complains, always goes above and beyond. And she fired him! Not only is it stupid to lose him, but the burden it would place on the other guy is overwhelming. We have lots of events that are simultaneous and we need both of these guys, plus the one she left untouched is the father of baby twins. There are going to be days that he will not be able to be there, there is no doubt. So, anyway, the chief engineer stepped up and said, If you are firing him, I want him in my department, and he hired him on a 90 day provisionary basis. That's great that he is still with us, but he's in a different department and his job won't involve me the same way. I truly love working with this guy. I am always happy when he's the one that will be handling the equipment when I'm on the air at the hospital or the cafe or wherever we go. When is this crazy woman going to be stopped?

Then, the sweet young girl that finally (we thought) got a break and moved from part-time to full-time as a producer as she pursues her dream of working in radio, comes in yesterday and starts to talk and then starts to cry! By going full-time, she got a CUT in pay because she gets benefits now. How sucky is that?? She's been working her ass off for two years to prove herself, frequently working lots more than she puts on a time card because she didn't want to go into overtime and make them disapprove. Now she gets the full-time gig and she can't even make rent this month. I feel so bad for her. I know how it feels to have several jobs. She was hoping to give up one of her part-time jobs now that she is full-time, but now she sees that she can't. I've got to find a way to help her.

So. What is the good news? Our morning newswoman had colon cancer surgery Tuesday and she's doing well, but still in the hospital. I am glad for that.

And I found my favorite Christmas CD "Yulestride" and I'm listening to it constantly. It makes me happy and makes me sad and nostalgic at the same time.

Mom visited Dad yesterday and my oldest nephew was her driver. He thought Dad looked great because he hadn't seen him since Thanksgiving, but Dad was very sleepy and just rolled over and slept while they were there--- odd when his grandson is visiting. Hopefully, he will get rested and be ready to move to the new facility soon.

I need to go to the card store for some birthday cards and I need to get a gift for my great-uncle. I promised my Dad I would take care of him. Sweet of my Dad to be worried about his uncle in the nursing home. I need to go to the bank. I need to make a list. I need to take an anxiety fighting pill. I need a drink. I need it to be January or February. No, let's just move on to April. No, then we'd be in ratings and that's nothing but pressure and I'd be busy every Wednesday night again. I guess I need to be happy in the moment. Where is that Zen center?

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland