Wednesday, Dec. 14, 2005 10:29 am

Slow to start

I'll write this morning so that I don't miss a day. I could better spend this time addressing Christmas cards or cleaning off this desk, but I wouldn't if I had the time, so I'll write instead.

I'm listening to Willie sing Pretty Paper on the Asleep at the Wheel Christmas album. Very nice. I had a good selection of Christmas CDs and I haven't taken advantage of them much this year so I pulled them out today. I especially love the Glenn Miller Orchestra "In the Christmas Mood II" CD with big band renditions of my favorite Christmas tunes. I also love the Roomful of Blues Christmas CD. I keep saying I am going to get my favorite Christmas songs on my iTunes so I can make a single CD with my favorites, but I haven't yet. I would have to download the Eagles "Please Come Home For Christmas" again. That became a favorite the year it came out--1978. That was my first Christmas in radio and I had never heard the other versions of that song so I just was entranced.

Today we have a company luncheon for the holiday with the sales people thanking the rest of us for what we do (which is a nice twist). Tonight I will go to a birthday celebration for my favorite salesperson. I got a perfect gift for her. She is deeply into the Texas music scene. I bought the calendar of naked local artists for her. She is not into any that are on the calendar, I'm sure, but just the fact that they are local and they are naked makes it perfect (and it is for a great cause--- the medical needs of Jon Dee Graham's little boy Willie Graham). I got one for Mark for Christmas, too. I may have to get some more. Ideal gift, great price, no tax!

After the birthday celebration I will go to the Rodeo for more Blue Santa stuff and a show. I don't know how late I'll be able to stay. I am tired and I need to get ready to go out of town tomorrow. And I need to think about my eating on this diet! That's the worst part about a diet is the planning and thinking about your food intake. But, I'm doing good, so I'll stick with it while I can.

Mark and I talked last night about our lack of holiday spirit this year. And we've decided not to get a Christmas tree. He looked at some fake trees last night and said the only one he would even consider having in the house was over $200. I said that I am so overwhelmed by work right now that the thought of HAVING to decorate and then HAVING to undecorate and clean up is just too much. He doesn't ever care, so he was fine with it. I'm okay with it too. I will enjoy my sister's decorations this weekend and not worry about it. I wish I could figure out how to make this easier next year. I need to get better at my computer program for music to speed up the log process, I suppose. It has many glitches that I have to deal with by hand and that takes time.

I am slow to get started this morning. Not tired, just a sense of dread. Isn't that awful? I've got nothing to dread today. A nice lunch, my favorite job, a birthday celebration, live music!


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland