Wednesday, Dec. 13, 2006 10:51 am

Bummed, yet again

I'm kind of bummed these days. I've been doing pretty good about Dad, I think, but yesterday I got to work for this "staff appreciation lunch" that that sales staff was putting on for everyone else and found out that yet another co-worker has been fired. He ran the websites and was swamped most of the time. I don't know if he did his job really well or not, but I do think he did it. In fact, the memo didn't say any reason except "reorganization" for that department. The boss over there is widely disliked and this sure doesn't help her cause. He says he is happy to be out, but he is a generally optimistic guy already. I hope he finds something great quickly. Meanwhile, our websites are already out of date and I've already had a complaint about something not being on the website.

I worked a lot yesterday on the gospel show. I worked on production. I worked on voicetracking. I felt like I was so behind all day long. I was there from noon to past 8 o'clock (well, I guess that is just an 8 hour day so that's not much). Still lots to be done. I'm working with the new APD today to get us on the same page. I am going to enjoy working with him.

I did go to the birthday party last night and it was okay, as far as parties go. I really enjoyed seeing my traffic girl's house and her party arrangments. She went all out and spend a LOT of money on our friend's birthday. I don't know anyone that I would go to that much trouble for. Of course, they work together, too, and have more of a relationship than just friendship. Our old biggest boss was there and it was great to get to see him again. I miss him. I miss those old days.

So, I remain bummed about the situation at work. I really like what I do, it is just missing the feeling of being part of something worthwhile and missing the caring environment that would be nice. I should be happy I don't have to wear a dress and hose to work and I don't have to get up in the morning in order to be there by 8 a.m. Yes, I should. I will focus on the things I am grateful for.

Oh, I got bummed, too, because the cell phone company I endorse for finally explained (after 8 months) why they aren't paying my bill. They will give me a free phone and free use, but I still have to complete my regular contract and I will lose my phone number. But I believe I have found a way to cheer myself up on this one. One of our good musician friends that is very poor has never had a cell phone. I am going to give him mine and the service and phone number they provide. He can use it free until I lose this contract (which, hopefully, isn't going to happen anytime soon). I will feel better if this isn't just going to go to waste and that seems like a good solution.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland