Late late Friday, Dec. 12, 2003 2:39 am

Night at the Deryl show

Okay, if you are going to get really technical about the Holidailies you could say I missed a day, but this is still Friday to me and I'm going to count it. And what are you, you big bully, going to do about it? You want to come over here and pull my Holidailies membership card? Well, ha, I don't have one. I am not an official Holidaily writer anyway. I don't HAVE to write every day, no matter what anyone says.

But it has become quite a habit. Some would say a compulsion.

I went to see Deryl Dodd tonight at the Alligator. What a great performer and great singer and songwriter. I'm really glad to call him my friend, too. It is nice to be around someone I click with.

What I don't enjoy being around is a friend that has changed over this past 9 months. He (you're clear that I'm not talking about Deryl here, right?) was quite drunk tonight and on the obnoxious side. I left because he was really rubbing me wrong. Being around someone like that makes me want to be extra cautious about my drinking. I drink too much as it is, it seems, and I hope I never come off like he does... slurring my words, getting a little bit beligerent, etc. He was drinking whiskey tonight and I only had some wine earlier at a party and a couple of beers (slowly) at the show.

My sister's father-in-law is doing better and is on the upswing. He is more mobile, but cannot speak. They are suspecting that he had a stroke. My brother-in-law breathed a sigh of relief and thought he might not go over like he had planned, but that made his poor strong sister fall apart. She is very much depending on him to come over. I think he should, too. There is no telling what next week will bring and he needs to be there to see his dad.

It is very very late and tomorrow is another full day with a trip out to Johnson City (for work).

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland