Saturday, Dec. 01, 2007 8:54 am

December Begins

Mark and I are up early. He's going to San Antonio for Huey Lewis. I love Huey. I saw him for the first time on April 1, 1980. Weird when I can remember something so specifically. It was at the Texas Moon Palace, an old converted roller rink, which, when you think about it, is a great idea.... big wooden dance floor. It was a great show because he was still new and had the album "Picture This" with Do You Believe In Love, but he sang all the new songs that were about to come out, including I Want A New Drug. I remember thinking "That is a hit if I've ever heard one... and if it can be played on the radio."

Two more layoffs at the station yesterday. My young frazzled promotions coordinator called first thing to let me know she was on the beach, too. Poor kid. She has a good resume for a kid, though, and shouldn't have trouble finding work. In radio? I don't know, but at least work paying what she was making (which couldn't have been much).

I finally got some Christmas decorations down from the attic yesterday and put a few things around the house. It really looks kind of junky and will until I get the stuff that was there before packed away. Nothing looks particularly festive yet and it was kind of a downer to pull out Christmas stuff and remember what was going on last Christmas and why I didn't pull it out then.

Today is all mine. Tonight I'm going to see my piano playing friend and the Wheel. Most of the band from the Letterman show is supposed to be there, too, which would be interesting, but I'd be going anyway. There's a thought of going to see a band playing this afternoon at a cafe, too, but that's iffy. I haven't considered that out loud or with anyone and I wouldn't go there alone. I plan on doing more around the house, cleaning the piles I've brought in here in order to get them out of other rooms, and I want to do some genealogy. That's one of my favorite things and I've practically ignored it the whole time I've been unemployed. On the other hand, I may get caught up in this website again do more tweaking. I can't get rid of a dang picture that is there and it frustrates me. I did learn a LOT about the blog section yesterday, but still don't have it connected to the page it needs to be connected to. And the counter is all wacky, too. Yesterday I watched as the numbers rose and rose and peaked at an all time high. Today that same column is less than half of where it was yesterday. How do I get such wrong reports? I don't get that and where do you look to know or find out?

It is wet today, not cold, but it looks it, and it is December. I had the weirdest dream just before waking up. I was talking to my older brother (I don't have one) in my old bedroom at our old house and it was current, today, December 1. We were talking about where we were a year ago today. We were saying it was a Sunday (it wasn't, it was a Friday) and how it had been pouring down rain and how Daddy was bad and he (the brother) had decided to stay even though his wife and kids were in San Francisco and he needed to go there. Or something. Really weird how matter-of-factly we were remembering a year ago and what we were doing then.

And my sister finished her nanowrimo novel this week and is giddy with excitement. I know how that feels and would love to feel it again, but don't know if I'll ever put out that effort again! She is evasive about me reading it and I know how that feels, too. She is going "home" in two weeks, the anniversary of Daddy's death. Mom is going to come home with me, but we might not be together that day because Mark and I may go on a little gig trip together. Everything is up in the air and tentative at this point. But Mom said she would be fine and could get together with my Aunt. I hadn't even thought about my aunt, but she is probably sad now, too.

I guess I missed out on Jette's holiday deal. I thought of it a week ago and meant to go check on it and didn't and I think you have to sign up before December 1 to be a part of it. No biggie, I'll still try to write daily in December and check to see who is writing over there, too. Mine isn't exciting enough to need to be read by the masses.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland