Wednesday, Dec. 01, 2004 9:57 am

Interesting dinner experience

More aggravation at the office yesterday. I had worked over the weekend and again at home Monday night getting ready for this big change in things on Dec. 1. I had been told this would be changing so I did all I needed to do to have my end ready. I go to work yesterday to find out that the change now isn't going to happen until Dec. 15. And what I changed is not simple to change back. What a pain. I have to change it back and then change it again in two weeks. Really irritating to not be in the loop.

Today I am much calmer about the world in general. Maybe because I got a pretty good night's sleep (interruptions though when Mark got home, when Mark had a nightmare, when the cat was hawking hairballs early, and when the cats started knocking on the door saying "Where's breakfast?"). And this morning I'm up at a decent time and am having my computer and coffee time.

I am going to make plain old green bean casserol for a company Christmas lunch today. I wish I had something festive to wear. I gave away my only Christmas-y sweater last year to force myself to get a new one this year, but I haven't been out to do that yet.

Oh, and I had a very interesting Austin-y mind-broadening experience last night that I almost forgot about. I ate dinner at a restaurant on the North Loop called Ararat. This is the kind of restaurant that I would never even think about trying on my own, but it was Guy's birthday and he invited us to join him for his birthday dinner. We didn't know a soul except for one guitar player and Guy's sweet sister, but it was fun and interesting. Middle Easter food is what they billed it to be: Pita bread and lots of things to eat on it, some rice-like, some dip-like, then roasted lamb, chicken, and beef, along with vegetables and rice. Very good and a neat atmosphere with a guy playing Christmas carols on one of those Greek instruments like a mandolin.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland