December 02, 2002 1:23 am

Thanksgiving Weekend

Technically, it is now Dec. 2 and I have already fu**ed up on my Holidailies. But, since I haven't been to bed tonight, it is still my Sunday, my December 1, so I think I'm still in the good graces of the Holidaily superiors that crack the whip over the profusely sweating online journalers, desperate to find something, anything, to write about each day. Well, and I haven't even signed up FOR the Holidailies this year, so I will dismiss my guilt and forge on. Yes, I guess what I'm paying the therapist is paying off! I can dismiss guilt!

Today was a beautiful day and a very nice Sunday. I passed on the journalers get-together because I had the chance to spend a day with my husband. Those seem to be pretty rare so I grabbed the opportunity. I know, I know, it's a girl rule that you don't blow off friends because of a last-minute date, but I gave up on girl rules when I turned 30.

We found the cactus man on Lamar and hadn't seen him in ages, so we stopped and bought all he had. Or near it. I chose several fabulous sedum gardens for various non-Christmas gifts that needed to be gotten. Mark got some BIG cactus to, I don't know, make him feel manly or something.

We went on for Italian at Vinny's and then across the street to the Citywide Garage Sale. I hadn't been to it since it moved to the Palmer and I liked many things about the new building. I did not like that it seemed very quiet. There needed to be music or hubbub or something. I think a band should rent a booth and play music all day.

I bought some pots, but nothing much. It was fun to look. I'm probably the anethema to the antique dealer. I'm the one going, "Oh, we used to have one of these," or "My grandmother had one just like that and still does!" They don't care, they only want me to buy it because of that chord of nostalgia it strikes.

Came home and took a glorious weekend nap. That has got to be my favorite thing about having a day off--a nap! Lovely.

Tonight I bought a ton of post-Thankgiving groceries. I had never really bought pre-Thanksgiving groceries since we weren't the hosts of the feast, so that really left us with no food in the house. I am trying to buy some things that even Mark can manage to fix for dinner so that there is a slight possibility that one day this week there might be a meal waiting for me when I come home. My sister almost blew it for me when we were there. I mentioned, in Mark's presence, that he was almost willing to learn to cook pasta to help me have a decent meal at night occasionally. My sister jumps in with how easy pasta was and "can you chop an onion?" NO NO NO, don't mention things like chopping onions, pre-heating an oven, adding a dash of anything.... All I want him to hear is "easy" and "can opener." If we can get him acquainted with boiling water we may really have something. A couple of years ago he mentioned the notion that he might want to learn to cook a steak, but a left-handed steak turner sent to him by his Dad and his wife quickly dashed any more thoughts in the cooking direction. He's gotten by on sandwiches and restaurants for 25 years, he's pretty set in his ways.

Thanksgiving, by the way, was a lovely event at my sister's home. The sad downside was that my Dad wasn't feeling well and couldn't quite stand up. He was woozy and wobbly and his legs were watery. My Mom did get him to the doctor on Saturday and he will see a neurologist and have an MRI this week. She is very emotional and upset about it all. We're all a little worried.

The funeral on Friday was a very nice "going away party" for a lovely woman. The stories about her were inspiring. She really lived the life she wanted to live and had friends everywhere. We met her daughter for the first time. She lives in California and works on TV and movies. She is best friends with Barry Manilow. Isn't that weird? You don't think about knowing, and being related to, people who are best friends with such well-known people. They have known one another for 30 years, way before Mandy. He must be a very nice person. When her mother had her stroke and was in the hospital he arranged a jet to send her up to where her mother was immediately. He sent a huge spray of flowers to the funeral and sent a song to be performed. I wish he had been there to perform it! It was interesting to meet her and to be around the rest of that stepfamily. They are an enjoyable bunch of people and we don't see them very much since we moved away from Dallas.

Friday night I had a wild night at the club I went to. I was there to introduce the band. I was hired to be there. Found out at the end of the night that the man who had hired me had been fired during the week. The band barely got paid from the receipts of the night and I had to wait an extra hour for the last couple of bar tabs to bring in enough cash to pay me. Wild night. I don't suppose they will be hiring me anymore since they paid me in ones and quarters. Nice money while it lasted.

Now we are caught up and ready to start the first full week of December. I can feel the busy days beginning.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland