1999-12-02 11:06:28

More work

Merry Christmas! Oh, wait, it's not really time for that, is it? I'm just trying to get in the Christmas spirit. I put on a Nat King Cole Christmas CD. Maybe I'll light a pine candle. I need to get in the spirit to get inspired to start Christmas cards, lists, fudge. Right now the only thing that sounds slightly interesting is fudge. I don't know if I'm not in the spirit because of the heat of Austin or being away from family or what. I know what will happen if I don't get in the spirit. I will finally get in it too late and then be even more depressed when Christmas comes and goes. Sunday I am going to go to the Christmas tree lighting at Zilker Park. If you aren't from Austin, they light one of the "moonlight towers" like a Christmas tree (I hear). The moonlight towers were constructed around Austin in the late 1890s I believe (I think they just had the 100th anniversary). They were put up to simulate moonlight on the city streets so they would be safer. In those days men had to come around and clean the lights everyday. Since then they have converted to a different bulp and they aren't as bright as they once were but they are quite beautiful. It is neat to imagine what this city was like when that was the illumination on the streets.

I didn't write last night because I got in late, was tired, watched a hilarious and amazingly gross and sacriligious South Park and went to bed.

I had a new station added to my list yesterday. I'll be doing middays in Baton Rouge beginning Monday. I filled in for another girl I work with and they loved me so they asked to get rid of her and have me fulltime. It didn't seem to bother her and I'm flattered. Plus, with this addition the boss promises to cut back on some other weekend shifts and it will make my life easier, I hope.

One of my co-workers got fired yesterday. She began the day before I did in May. I don't see a lot of her because she chooses to work in the middle of the night so I don't know what kind of a job she's been doing. Apparently they weren't happy and let her go. I liked her and feel sorry for her. Her move to Austin was the first time she has lived away from her parents house in her life! She is 27 but she's always lived with her parents in Michigan. I've been torn up over moving three hours away from my family and I haven't lived with them for 20 years, I don't know how she made this big change. Now she'll have to pay for the move home if she wants to go back.

Apparently I don't have anything to say today. I have a zillion letters I need to write thanking cousins and aunts for the wonderful party for my granddad and for Thanksgiving, too. I'm procrastinating.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland