Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018 10:49 am

Working at home

I'm "working" from home today and I am bored out of my mind. Not as much as I usually am at work since I do have the freedom to go to the kitchen and eat and wander around the house randomly and pick things up and set them down and to write in my diary here or look at sites with bedspreads and ceiling fans.

I'm home because I had to have an exterminator come by this morning. I've been hearing noises in the attic. It sounded like someone was living up there. Just slow heavy footsteps. He said he could see a hole as soon as he got here. We talked and he looked out back and then he took me out front to see the hole. Goodness gracious -- the big round louvered decorative vent in front was knocked wide open. It was not that way on Sunday night. Sunday night I went outside with a flashlight and saw that it was rickety, but it was not knocked wide open like now. So the exterminators will come again and cover the hole and set a trap and check it for three days. And charge me a lot of money. I want to spend my money on painting and fun things for my house. Not air conditioning repair and critter removal.

I messaged with the fabulous couple I adore from Chicago/Scotland and I'm going to go to their house tomorrow night after my meeting for dinner. I would love to have more friends invite me over for dinner. I need to do that. They were about the only "couple" we had as friends. Mark is going to a party they are having Dec 29. I was shocked since it isn't his kind of party---ugly sweaters and white elephant gifts. I'm not going (and not just because of him). I don't want to go because I know that everyone there is a friend of his. Not that I don't like them, I just don't have a whole lot in common with them. I was with them last year on New Year's Eve and didn't really find my place there. I know, I know, I'm single now and need to get out, but not this one.

I'm also home working because my bed is to bed delivered. It is one of my spur of the moment purchases, but I think it is a good one. It is a solid wood bedstead. I hope to move my bed into the guest room and set this one up in my room. I want to get the guest room set up a little bit more for a renter/roommate. I need to steel myself and find one.

My house refi has all gone through easily and tomorrow is the day for the money. This morning I wrote down all my debts and all my assets and my net worth (327, 250) and it will be the same except things are shuffled around. AND...and it is a big and, a big but...the debts won't be climbing from interest. They will remain the same and go down month by month and I will do my best not to let others get added. And I'll be adding to my 401K each month and hopefully stocks will climb. So my net worth should be going up by $1000 each month? Maybe more? I don't know if that is good or bad.

I am jittery today. Don't quite know what to do with myself. This is the advantage of BEING at the office. I know what to do there.

Before || After
Older Entries
Fighting - Monday, Feb. 11, 2019
BBQ and Cemetery - Saturday, Feb. 02, 2019
Comanche and DFW - Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019
Boring Sunday - Sunday, Jan. 06, 2019
Wrapping up the Year - Saturday, Dec. 29, 2018
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland