Sunday, Dec. 11, 2005 5:28 pm

Tired Sunday

I don't much feel like updating today. I am not hungover today, despite the copious amounts I drank last night, but I am tired.

I could see yesterday the roadblocks that will be in my way on this new diet. At my first remote they were cooking hefty breakfast tacos, loaded with egg and sausage and potato. Then they fired up the vats for deep fried catfish, chicken, french fries, and hushpuppies. Oh, yes, and they had cobbler. I moved on to the second remote and there were samples of dips and chips and cheese balls and meatballs in barbeque sauce and chili and tortilla soup. Then a party and all the many delicious foods and drinks there and then I went to a bar and just drank. I was dying for a Whataburger on the way home, too, but I resisted.

The boss's party turned out to be a lot of fun. One of my co-workers had found out about the party and was concerned that she wasn't invited. She worried that that must mean she was about to be out of a job. The eVite that they sent didn't tell who was invited so it was hard to know what his pattern of invitations had been within the company, but common sense would tell you that he would invite the six program directors that report directly to him. Then, Friday, he sent out an email to the people within the company that were invited and it had directions to his home. And her name was on that list!! We were both relieved and she felt like an idiot. We don't quite know why she didn't get the eVite, but maybe he misspelled her name.

So she and I and my traffic reporter were going to team up and make the drive way north, but then we got the call from the morning men and they had the limo so we hitched with them. That is really the way to go. Much more fun than driving yourself and fun to have a group like that.

The house and the party were lavish and it was interesting to see how the other half live. My ego got big boosts while talking to neighbors and friends of my boss's who LOVE me and love listening to me in the afternoon. That was really a nice stroke. If his friends like me, surely they tell him every so often and he knows I'm important. It did a lot to boost my spirits.

After the party we were back before it was too late so I went to the Rodeo for Kevin's show. That place was packed to the max! Unbelievably packed and he put on a great show. I got there and realized that my friend the CGP would be there because his band had opened. I was following a friend and she beelined to the backstage area and I did find him there. It was kind of weird. He was thrilled to see me and I was looking very good and that was nice. He thought my hair was long, which was funny since I just got a lot of it cut off, but since he hadn't seen me with my hair down in almost a year, it just makes sense.

He was standing next to a woman backstage that is a germ. She's one of those people that is always at the Double D shows and I've been embarassed for her as she does her shimmy shimmy dance right in front of the stage trying to attract his attention. She is a kindergarten teacher, I think. She is attractive and nice enough, but I never have particularly liked her. She just seems a little trampy. So she and CGP are chatting it up, but he was nice enought to get me a beer. At some point they slip out for a cigarette or something.

SIDE NOTE: I am liking this new smoking ordinance in the city, even though I didn't vote for it in the first place. What I do NOT like is how smokers just walk out without excusing themselves or asking if you'd like to go with them. I've had this happen time and again where I am at a table of people, watching music, and then I turn around and they are all gone! Tell me that you are going, people!

So, I assume CGP goes out for a cigarette. I didn't want to be the girl hanging around waiting on him so I circulated and found many more people that I knew. Finally I decided I had had enough so I said a few goodbyes, went back by and was nice and said goodbye to CGP, then headed out. But then I got waylaid by a couple more drunk musicians and a cop friend and stayed a while longer. I know CGP saw me staying and I am enough of a game-player that I enjoyed that. He and the teacher were really swapping some spit through the night, too. I was very glad I wasn't standing there for any of that. I wonder if they had just hooked up last night or if she was there as his date or something. I'm glad I am disconnecting from him.

I had quite a drunk conversation with these musicians. They were quite intoxicated. Funny, one of them is a real pretty boy and I have pegged him to be gay since I first met him. The other I hadn't thought of it before, but last night I was wondering. So then, as I was about to leave, I went back to the cop friend and said, "You're inciteful, are these guys gay?" He just died laughing. He said he didn't know about the pretty boy, but he said the other one has a cross tattooed on his lower back and men just DO NOT get that area tattooed unless they are gay apparently. Interesting observation.

The drunk musicians gave me several ideas for my book as I was talking to them. I need to get them written down and get better at remembering conversations.

So I came home last night, not drunk, but tired after a long day. I expected to beat Mark home since he had played in San Antonio, but he was home. They had played at a restaurant and it closed early. Funny to me that he beat me home and probably had no idea where I was. As the games-player that I am, I enjoyed that, too.

Today I have done nothing much except start this new diet. I did go to that place for our meeting on Friday. I didn't like the ladies that worked there. I don't like that psychological sales pressure...even though they aren't selling anything to me (well, nothing that costs money). I felt like they were wanting me to say "My children are ashamed to be seen with me unless I lose weight, boo hoo hoo." I'm really very happy with the way I am and, though I realize I could lose weight at feel better, am not very motivated to lose weight. EXCEPT, I am currently motivated by money and this is a great deal for me to get the program for free and make money in the new year, too. So I'll grin and bear it as long as possible.

I have to go back and see them again tomorrow and on Wednesday. Already I'm seeing the troubles, like the free food issue, and I am going out to dinner tomorrow night and I'll have to think about this. And drinking! I'm going out tomorrow night and I will have to decide whether or not to drink. I have gone weeks before without drinking and I know I get used to it, but I don't know if I'm motivated at this point to not drink. I guess I'll figure that out tomorrow. Today I've eaten eggs and salmon and spinach. Basically the Atkins thing to get you started on the fat burning. Mark has enjoyed having meals cooked, so he's okay with this so far.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland