Thursday, Dec. 11, 2003 9:51 pm

Heavy weights

I've waited 48 hours and that Christmas tree has not decorated itself yet, so I guess I am forced to take it upon myself. That's next up tonight, along with eggnog, along with cooking some cookies for Mark's roadtrip tomorrow.

I've had a heavy weight of depression on me today. Mainly because my sister's father-in-law in Holland is very ill and possibly close to death. He had a spell or heart attack or something along those line a couple of nights ago and has been in the hospital on a respirator ever since. My brother-in-law is shutting down his business amidst his busiest, most profitable time of year, and going to Holland on Sunday and will stay until Christmas Eve. Of course, if Willy dies, my sister and the boys will go over, too. I know many people deal with these types of things through the holidays, but I feel so bad for their family and wish a happy ending could happen today, but I know it is something they will just have to go through as best they can.

My brother-in-law's dad is important to all of us. It seems in many families there isn't much of a relationship between the two sets of in-laws. My folks have had some meals on occasions with Mark's families, but not often. But since my sister's in-laws are all in Holland, when they come to the U.S. we all become one family. We've had Christmases with them, we've stayed at their house in Holland, I've even traveled on a two-week vacation with them all. They are very dear people.

This moodiness made me very high-strung today and I got very concerned as discussions came around to my upcoming trip to Colorado. I've been planning on this trip for a month, easily, and thought it was a done deal. I certainly was willing to do some "work" while I was there to make it worth their while to send me (and save me the money). Now they began "deciding" if I would be the one to go and making plans for me to be doing my show each day from there. I am certainly willing to do things there, but that seemed excessive and would certainly put a crimp in my plans to explore and run around in the daytime with my sweet husband. How long has it been since we were on a roadtrip together? Too damn long, I know that. In stepped the good boss to make things good... I'll do some reports from up there, stuff I can put together pretty easily, I think, and my days will be primarily free. Hooray. A big sigh of relief.

A quick check on the tree and it still sits there bare so I will go help it become a Christmas tree and not just a tree.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland