Thursday, Dec. 09, 2010 8:46 am

The Future

I think being overwhelmed, sick, stressed, etc., is all PMS. I need to be more aware of the in 3 weeks and know that I'm not just incapable of handling it all.

Company party last night was semi-fun. I went with the paralegal and we both left a little early. If I had been young, single, feeling better, etc., I might have stayed until all hours, singing and flirting (it was at a piano singalong bar), but I am not and didn't so we left and I came home and wrote a long blog about Christmas parties.

Stress has been a little better this week and I'm taking tomorrow off, so maybe then I can catch up on correspondence and bills and Christmas cards and shopping and laundry and . . . . Now I'm feeling stressed again.

Yesterday was Lennon's death anniversary -- 30 long years ago -- and I thought about it a lot through the day and had interesting conversations with many Facebook friends about it. Even emailed with my old boyfriend with whom I was on the phone with that night. Mark came home last night and said, "If we'd been on the phone that night . . " indicating that he wouldn't have left me unsupported. He is sweet.

Our anniversary of engagement was this week, as well. We were both cranky and hungry and tired, but Mark left me a very very sweet message on my phone in the afternoon saying he would do it all over again in a heartbeat. I'm sure glad he married me.

I got a letter from 30-year-ago boyfriend this morning with thoughts about businesses he might invest in. It bugs me that we are a generation that "can't hold a job." I discussed this with a co-worker yesterday how our parents and all our friends' parents had jobs that they stayed with forever and it is just not even considered anymore. I wish it could be. I wish I had the security to know that either I would continue in this job as long as I wanted or there would be other good jobs I might go to. It is all too insecure these days. But his letter made me think about my plans for now and toward retirement and what I'm going to be doing for the next 10-15 years, which isn't long at all. We've lived in Austin that long and it has flown by.

No time to ponder the future this morning beyond getting to work at a reasonable time and trying to wrap things up for the week.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland