Sunday, Aug. 06, 2006 1:31 am

Saga continues

May as well write and continue the saga of the unplanned guest list. The party was a successs. I almost wanted it NOT to be so I could say, See, if you had only let me in on the plans I could have made it work! As it was, people kept coming to our door last night that I hadn't met before and had no idea they were invitees. Friends, friends of friends, on and on. Fortunately, many of them had eaten and most brought some sort of beverage so people took care of themselves. And they all left politely by midnight, which was great. There were a couple of times I had to disappear to be by myself, but no one noticed, which was good.

The house was beautifully clean for the party. Mark got the maids to come back for a cleaning. That helped a lot.

Today he was all mad at me again because beer got on his drum heads in the garage. All through the party I am trundling a wastebasket full of beer and wine bottles to the garage to keep the counters clear and get the trash out of the house. Some of the bottles had some beer in them. Every bottle I picked up I dumped in the sink, but, sure, there was leftover beer in some of them. That beer came through the holes in the bottom of the recycle bins and splattered on his drum heads. So it is my fault? Maybe his drum heads shouldn't have been there, too? I said, Are you mad at ME? He said, yes, he was. I said that it really wasn't my fault that beer splattered in the garage. "Oh, so I guess it is NO ONE'S FAULT?" Well, yes, honey, sometimes things are no one's fault.

So, yes, we are still battling a bit. He did take me to lunch and that was nice (that was before the beer splattered heads were discovered). He also sounds like he might be willing to go tubing with me and my friend "Billy Joel" tomorrow. We'll see. I expect he will back out. I possibly will back out, too, but I don't want to. My first invitation to go tubing and I need to take it and learn how all of this works! An adventure.

I went to the pub to see them play tonight. My whole little older and younger circles of friends were there, but I just had a so-so time. I love Mr. Apple, but he is getting on my nerves somewhat. He is so beloved, I wouldn't dare say that anywhere but here, but he is similar to our best man in that he is always right and always wants to tell you why he's right. He's sweeter and more gentlemanly in his ways, but he still gets on my nerves.

I think I'm uptight today for various reasons. I overdrew the F-ing checking account by about one dollar without thinking. I moved money before that transaction was official, but it probably won't stop the service f-ing charge. Then I thought I had lost my wallet again and I had to search high and low and go to the station and have someone let me in to look for it there. It did show up in my car where it had fallen out, but the panic and anxiety remained.

Also, the reunion is coming up and I know I feel this desperate fearful feeling each year that I'm not doing something right on the genealogy and I'll get in trouble for it. They love me to death every year and there is no repurcussions so I don't know why I keep feeling this way. And I'm anxious because my cousin's wife is coming and going with me and that cramps my style and we're going to have to share a bed and we have to come back early on Sunday.... on and on and on these things are weighing on me. Maybe this year I should just skip the computer and the pie and just go and have a good time for the moment and not worry about everything that I usually worry about. At least I DID call the B&B and made sure we have a reservation. That's a done deal, but just the one bed that I expected to be alone in. sigh sigh sigh

Also went to a baby shower this afternoon. I'll throw that in just for the record. Very pleasant time. Two of my male co-workers and their wives are having three babies... a girl and a boy/girl twin set. Nice people and it was a nice party, even though no one there was from my station (which made me feel special for being invited).


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland