Friday, Aug. 03, 2007 11:30 am

I'm sick...

It has been a hard week with VERY sunburned legs. In fact, I am "sick" today because of it. And much more. It seemed like a day that I really could manage to be out and thank goodness Laser arranged it. I had to work until almost midnight last night to get things done and I still must swing by the station to do the VA station, but I am not going in for a regular work day and that is a good good thing.

Wednesday was harder than I thought. The lunch was okay. Kev was wonderful and he brought the family, including the new baby. The lunch was boring, though. Joey sat with a couple so I joined them and they were the dullest people on the planet. They never listen to the station, apparently, and could care less that they were there. It wasn't their donation that got them there, it was their boss's, so they were just there for the free lunch, I guess. And I wasn't so impressed with the free lunch. It was served buffet style and it was only mashed potatoes and meat. I was all for the meat, since it fit my diet, but they only gave me a small portion, so I left hungry (my own fault, I know).

So I went on to work, cranky and overwhelmed with mail and emails and work to do, when my sister called. Troubles with the house sale and the attempt to get everything out of Mom's house. She was upset. I calmed her down and then our friend, the realtor, called me. I'm sure she discovered she had stepped on my sister's last nerve (they had just gotten back from vacation, too) and was coming to me for help. She said the buyer wants to close early. I said, but that doesn't mean we HAVE to close early, but we'll see what we can do. So I am going up there tonight for a garage sale tomorrow. Once my sister and I got a little rest, we were more inclined to get this taken care of. We'll have a big sale (well, not too big, most of the stuff is gone, we hope) and then a junk guy will come clean out the rest on Tuesday. Then we'll get that house sold and we will be free of all of that worry and Mom will have another $100K to live off of.

Our show at the cafe was good Wednesday. Pauline was the opener. I wasn't there for her. I interviewed her and used it on the air. She is just always on 11 and that irritates me. I don't dislike her, I just don't connect with her whatsoever. I don't like her new PR guy either. Too over-the-top. Anyway, it was done. My interview with Brian H went well, but I felt slow. The show was great, though. I taught M&M how to play Spider Solitaire and so she will soon be totally addicted.

The after party was okay. I was very low-key and left as soon as I could. Home to bed.

I guess it was Tuesday night that Mark did what no husband should do, but he appreciated me for going with the flow. He was called to meet some friends at a close-by bar. He hadn't seen one of the guys from Dallas in quite a while so he went to meet them for a drink. I was in my pajamas watching TV and finishing my vacation. He called about 12:15 and said "Put on your britches, I'm bringing company home!" Augh. He swore I didn't need to do a thing, so I didn't (other than put on clothes). He brought three men and a woman. I vaguely knew one of them. Well, I knew another because he is a listener and has won stuff from me, which felt weird. So we all sat on the patio and visited an hour or so and then they went on. It was nice, really.

Yesterday at work I made the decision to be sick today and that helped my mood considerably. I still need SO much time just to clean my office and re-sort everything. We have new rules about paperwork on EVERY CD I am sent so I tried to get started on that task yesterday. That is going to be a big pain. I walked into the studio to discover five CDs from a friend/guy that will be on the series next week. I almost wept! Not really, but my first thought isn't "Cool, my friend's CD!" anymore, it is "Crap, more paperwork!"

Last night I interviewed Gene Watson by phone, but I didn't have to do anything with the raw interview yet. I will worry about that next week. And I tracked my Texas show and VA and did logs and got a lot done before I came home at almost midnight. Today I will clean house and fold laundry and pack and then get on down the road.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland