Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2004 10:05 am

He's Home

My sweet husband is home. Yes, he is my "sweet" husband when I've missed him for a week and I'm happy to have his company again. I really do hope he doesn't go away again soon. He did have a great trip and he enjoyed the gigs. This band (from Dallas) travels a LOT and I wouldn't really want him to make a habit of it again. We've gone through that and it wasn't much fun. I'm sure I could adjust if I needed to, but I'd rather have him around.

Everyone at work seems to accept the fact that the evil boss is coming back. References to him and his arrival abound, yet no official confirmation yet. I hear that lawyers are involved....drawing up a contract. But, STILL, nothing official. So I can hope. Hope hard! The big (good) boss is off on vacation so I suppose nothing will happen this week.

One opening at the station was filled this week and I met him yesterday. Kind of a disappointment. By and large, most of the people you meet in radio are interesting, smart, and somewhat charming (you may find them smarmy and deceitful soon enough, but upon first meeting they usually put up a great front). . .Not this guy. Seemed like a real wet blanket. His background is management so that may be the factor... if he hasn't been on air that would explain a lot.

There is yet another opening at the station... two of them. We are going through some major changes, that's for sure. Of course, we've got six stations so that multiplies the possibilities for changes. The morning team on one of our stations has resigned... he to go to a new station in management, she to be a mom for a while. Their situation and that opening won't affect me at all, I suppose.

I went to the dentist yesterday. This dentist has been an advertiser and I did commercials for him in exchange for a lot of work last year, which is a great deal! When I came back in six months, fully expecting to pay, they waved me off and said there was no payment due. Another good deal! I went back yesterday and . . . gasp!!! choke!!!. . . they charged me a LOT for a cleaning and some x-rays. A LOT that I really didn't have to spend right now. They are nice folks, but it is sort of a "spa" dentist's office focused more on straightening and whitening than on just good old maintenance, so I believe I'll bring my business back to the old-fashioned dentist in Manchaca that I've gone to before. His office feels like . . . surprise . . . a dentist's office!

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland