Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2005 10:39 am

Botox and Katrina

Where have I been all week? Mostly asleep, I think. I did have a wonderfully relaxing weekend with lots of sleep and with the movie "The 40 Year Old Virgin" in the middle. I thought it was hilarious. Much better than I expected it to be.

Despite all the sleep and rest, I went back to work exhausted Monday. How does that happen? Not stimulated in my job? Quite possible. Of course, we were watching Hurricane Katrina blowing onshore, and I think the sadness and horror of that took a lot out of me, too.

Yesterday I had all sorts of obligations upon me. I've learned that I am a "one appointment" kind of person. Besides work, don't expect me to be more than one place. It just discombobulates me. I went to the cooking place yesterday morning and prepared 12 meals for my refrigerator. We are set for a while. We were going to have a celebration after work about the ratings, but that ended up being delayed. I also was supposed to go to Cory's CD release downtown, but I bailed on that.

Oh, I guess the reason I started the week tired was that I did get up early and go to San Antonio for botox. The treatment is stressful. My doctor and the young resident working with him were both sweet and compassionate, but it hurt. It didn't hurt as badly as last time, though, and I didn't choke and cough nearly as much. I haven't had any swallowing difficulties yet, either, so we'll see if it works. Today I am talking pretty easily, but next week will be the hard week of transition. It's just a crapshoot to see what will happen. He used less Botox this time and injected in a different place. It may not last as long, but maybe fewer side effects.

Today is the music series with one of my least favorite artists. I've got tons to do before my so-called vacation. I say so-called because I'm still going to do at least one remote, the music series, and a blood drive during the week. I just won't be on the air will be the main difference. I swear I'm going to go AWAY for at least one day. Even if it is just to downtown Buda, I'm going away. With gas prices soaring, I may get no further than Manchaca. Gas was 2.49 Saturday, 2.72 at Walmart yesterday and expected to top 3. I'm not complaining. I have a car to put it in. I have a house. I have clothing and food and electricity and air conditioning and a computer and on and on and on. I don't know how the people on the coast will endure this.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland