Wednesday, Aug. 27, 2008 11:40 am

Danny's funeral

I did get a lot done over the weekend, so that feels good. I need to get going today, I'm already running late.

Dinner with M&M and Frenchy was okay, I guess. It cost me $80 and I never felt comfortable or at ease. I hate drinking $16 worth of wine...and that is only two glasses. I know I just come from a completely different strata of income and background than those women and I would have to have a huge, guaranteed long-term income in order to get comfortable at going out for $100 dinners.

Yesterday was Danny's service. Dave came with Mark and I and I liked seeing him except he gave me some inside skinny of people talking about about me. The fat guy from the mornings says "I got rid of Pecan . . . " What an ass. I am really looking forward to his downfall and I know there will be one. The old man formerly of the morning was at the service and it was nice to see him. The reception was way too crowded so we didn't stick around. I'm sure it was nice after a while when it thinned out. It was nice to see lots of people at the service that we knew. I had a guy recognize me and say he missed me. I couldn't tell if he was a weirdo hanger-on or not.

Last night I took about a 3 hour nap and then did a little typing and then watched too much TV. There are other things I need to do, but I get too tired. Of course, I'm not keeping up with my walking either.

I guess I didn't write about lunch with the family Sunday. It was very very nice. I enjoyed the ride, the visit, the meal. The boys were so funny and fun to be with. We came home a back way and saw Sefcik Hall and Westphalia and that makes me feel good.

Today is a big show at the cafe with Roger. I will have a full afternoon, evening.

Mark talked to his Mom yesterday and he or we may go up soon to see them and see how he is doing. Mark and I talked a long time last night about Daddy's death and if Mark "regrets" not having visited Daddy in those last 6 weeks. He doesn't. I didn't think he would. He had a great talk with Dad before he went into the hospital and assured him that he (Mark) would take care of Daddy's anvil and things that were important to Dad. We had no idea that that would be needed. Mark may have been the only one that had that serious of a talk with Daddy. The rest of us ignored the fact that he could die.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland