Sunday, Aug. 27, 2006 12:35 pm

Sunday starts slow

Today I am still pondering that trip to the office supply store, which is always so fun, but I also am in a money crunch so I know that can wait. But it is back-to-school time, dammit, I deserve some new pencils and a Big Chief tablet. (Have those days ended for first graders? Where's the age break where readers are going "huh? big chief? what does that mean?)

I did spend a lazy day completely indoors yesterday. No, I did go out on the patio and got the grill parts to bring in the house and wash. It was too freakin' hot to do anything more even though everything needs watering. I cleaned the kitchen (not to the degree I did last week) and made a carrot cake from a mix.

Mostly I worked on genealogy. It was a lot of fun. I can't believe how much information I have on tiny scraps of paper. I tried to transfer some of that to the computer so it is more secure ( !?! ) and I will work today to sort things some more. If Mark ends up having to leave today I will use his scanner to get some more pictures into the computer, too. I have tons. Tons and Tons. I wish I even had a PLAN on how this could all be organized, but everytime I think of a PLAN I realize that this doesn't fit into that PLAN and this snippet of information will need a folder of its own, etc. etc. etc. It's quite overwhelming.

Then I read letters from my great-grandmother and my grandmother where they fret over the same sort of thing. Great-grandma didn't fill out a form I sent her because she couldn't do it "nice" since she was now so "nervous." Mamma wanted every piece of information she sent to me back so she could make into a scrapbook and get it organized. I'm sure that never happened.

I did watch (sort of) the Cowboys last night. I'm not really back in a football frame of mind, but that was a start. I had it on and heard that they won. That still doesn't mean I really like them.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland