August 25, 2003 9:15 pm

Yallaed out

I'm bushed. Worn to a burnished nub. Cranky, too. I'm Yallapaloozaed out. That was our big concert yesterday. It was fun, but I had already had a full day/weekend/week/month.

But I have a new car! That energizes me. The hunt is over and I am fully committed to at least a five-year relationship with this cute little baby SUV. It is a bright blue, where I really wanted white, but I like it. Low mileage and much newer than I expected to be able to afford. I got a great deal and no "yeah, buts..."

I'm also happy because I'm helping out a fellow co-worker by selling and financing my car to/for him. He is only part-time at the station and couldn't get credit right now and has no car, so he'll be good with my old car to transport him.

I went to Fort Worth Saturday night and saw Mark play with his old band at the White Elephant. That stockyards area sure has gotten cheesier. It seems like when we used to go there it was more locals and more "real" cowboys. Now it is mostly tourist. Joe Avezano (probably misspelled) was there and I got to meet him. That was cool as an old Dallas fan.

After the gig Mark went on home to Austin, I went to my sister's and spent the night and celebrated my younger nephew's 14th birthday with him. He is so adorable. He didn't know I was coming, so as I came into the house at 1:30 in the morning he stuck his head out of his doorway upstairs and says, "Aunt Pecan?" I said, yes, it's me, hi. He says, "Did you come for my birth..." and then trailed off like that was selfish and SURELY I wasn't there just for him. I said, Yes, of course, I'm here just for your birthday. He was thrilled and flattered. We had lunch yesterday with him and the family and my parents. A quick visit, but enough that he knows I love him.

I dashed on back to town after lunch and went straight out to the lake for the concert. I introduced Kevin and inside later Aaron. It was never a boring night, but I sure was getting tired by 1 a.m. when I was able to leave.

Today we were up early for the car appointment and making that deal took time and energy (and MONEY). I'm cranky tonight. My sister has won a trip and we may take it together. She is e-mailing me the details, but from what I have heard so far it may not be much of a deal. We'll see. I know I need the time off, but now I am feeling particularly poor so it scares me to spend money.

Oh, and this entry hasn't even included my new best friend, the Double D. What is with me and these attractive men? This one is a flirt and a ladies' man and I can see why. He is pure sex appeal. He is long distance and won't be keeping in touch like CGP so I'm sure my fantasies and I are safe from reality, but he will be back in town next week, so there may be a spike of danger there. Ah, well, that makes for the best fantasies, I suppose.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland