Friday, Aug. 24, 2007 11:51 am

Birthday

My little nephew's birthday. Eighteen! The years do fly by. And he has been an angel every day of it. I am amazed at his leadership abilities, his social skills, his efforts to get things done. He is something else. I work with a lot of kids in their twenties and most of them are not as sharp as he is. He is going to do amazing things in his life.

I'm dragging late again this morning, but I just let it happen today. Yesterday I hurried to get to work because the Hamster had set up and interview with Hal Ketchum for me. I wasn't sure if it was before I was on the air or during, so I got there "early" (for me). No Hal. I went down the hall to ask the Hamster, but he has those fucking frosted windows now so you can't see in or out and he had his door locked. How's that for a good manager policy? I went back and emailed him and got no answer. Hal never showed up so I don't know what happened. I had emailed him a couple of days ago about the new Garth song that comes out Monday and never got an answer on that either. So I will just do it my way. Frustrating to have no communication with your boss whatsoever.

I had a nice caller yesterday that made me feel good. Just one of those guys calling for a bit of information and we ended up talking and he told me how much I mean to him in the afternoon. Very nice. Now I can't even remember what song he was calling about.

I ended up going to see Rodney Crowell last night. I had thought I would go see him in Luckenbach tonight until I found out he was at the other series last night. M&M could offer me a parking spot and a table, so I took her up on it. It was her birthday, too, and I wanted to share it with her. I feel so bad for her this week. She's having a hard time with her Dad's death and with everything. And her sometimes boyfriend is no help. She called him last night to see if he was coming and if she needed to save his seat and he was all "I don't know, I may or I may not." For heaven's sake, it is her birthday, at least commit one way or the other. Plus, he had a DWI on Friday and she spent her Saturday getting him out of jail and THEN he tells her he was with someone else when he got arrested. What a dick.

Mark went out with an old friend of ours that now lives in Chicago. He really went to see that guy play with other friends of ours. He stayed out and drank too much, he says, but he's okay this morning after sleeping pretty well.

I met a disc jockey from the other station last night. I have heard her on the air and figured she was pretty young and green because she is so stiff and formal and always "reading" on the air. But I met her last night and she is older than me and worked all-nights at my station over 20 years ago! She is not green, she's just bad and that's why she is still working all-nights and weekends. I guess I'm glad there are still those jobs for people. Funny, she is friends with our worst weekender that gives me the creeps. Almost figures. Do we all find our own level? I know, I'm a radio snob.

Will I have any time at home this weekend? I hope so. I have remotes both days and there is a stupid baby shower tomorrow afternoon that I haven't committed to, but I expect I should go. I don't have a gift, but I guess that can be arranged. Details. And I need to really think about what I need on this vacation because I need to get up and GO on Thursday morning with the packing and thinking already done.

August 24. Every time I see that date I am reminded of my nephew. Bless his sweet heart. I love that young man. I don't know that any of my aunts or uncles ever loved me as much as I love my boys. They all had children of their own before I came along. I know they loved me, but I am just overwhelmed (and scared to death for them). I'm sure it still isn't to the degree of a parent, they aren't my kids, but they are all I have and I think my sister has done an amazing job of raising them.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland