Saturday, Aug. 21, 2010 11:13 am

Back to limbo

I had thought menopause had finally arrived when "aunt Flo" didn't for the last 2 months, but my body proved me wrong today and I'm cranky and headachey this morning. Cranky. But I do weigh less than I have in a long LONG time. At least 7 pounds down from when Mom was here in June. I've been trying to be careful and eat less and not pig out and also taking some diuretics since my ankles have turned into stumps, but at least it is lower and lower than one of those big billboards that loom up from the scale that say "you've gone up into another set of digits!" I'm still 8.8 over HGW which began about the time I got laid off in '07. I would be so happy to get back below that where I don't feel like such a loser (or would that be gainer?).

Mark is getting ready to go to a drum swap meet and will be out most of the afternoon. I guess I need to get out and go to Tesoros and buy a blanket for nephew #2 who turns 21 on Tuesday. That's what I gave nephew #1 and I'd like to do the same. May not be that neat to them at all, but it is something I hope they'll have for many years to come.

After last weekends discoveries about my Aunt Annie and her family life after she was disowned, this week I had even wilder discoveries. The guy in Abilene I had been writing to about the sheriff uncle there sent me a great news article from the NY Times about him being arrested in Wichita, KS, for killing a man in a gunfight. I went on a search and found out more about the guy he killed and found articles in the San Francisco Chronicle and Fort Wayne papers. The short bits had his arrest in April and his release in September, but I don't know if he was in jail that whole time. Surely they wouldn't have let him go back to Texas? But I guess they had bond/bail at the time and he was a lawman. It really got me excited and I want to find out more in the Abilene papers. I'm sure they were full of it and I think they are available at the Texas State Library.

Also a great letter from a woman in France. One of our cousins that died in France in WWI became a friend to her aunt and family over a 6 week period before he died and their families have remained friends for almost 100 years. How cool.

And on top of all this other, I don't even know if I wrote about the newest cousin that found me through my blog. She's from Alabama and lives in New Braunfels now and has gone to her family reunion in Alabama and is sending me some cool things. Last night, though, she sent a picture that is SO big, my photo program and Mark's won't even handle it.

Plus, I've been writing to a man about the Letts and need to do some more research there. I'm getting ahead of myself and have more lines going than I can handle on my limited schedule.

Speaking of limited, this has been a busy week for the doctors as the young one quit and had words with the main one and now the keys and locks have been changed and he's gone. I hope he is replaced soon so they can continue the big business they seem to be doing. I know the doctor will retire within the next few years and I may have to retire along with him on this, but meanwhile, I've gotten rather used to the extra income. I will not miss the young doctor's dictating style. He is pretty plain spoken and easy to understand, but he never misses the opportunity to use a bigger word (he used "paucity" the other day, for heaven's sake) and likes to go into medical terms with great detail because he wanted to be a doctor, but didn't have the grades (I hear). And he backed up six or seven times a sentence, starting over, changing words. Fragments. Leaving out verbs. On and on. The other doctors have their quirks and may be hard to understand at points, but they rarely back up and re-work their sentences. I have one to type today and that's all I need to do this weekend for them.

The radio folks are slow in paying again. Invoice from 8/1 and 8/15 outstanding here on the 21st. I'll check the mail today and hope one big check is there. And I need to cut liners for the other radio. I love him, but twice this summer he had had me cut stuff and said "I'll get a check off to you" and I haven't seen any. I may let him know that, but, on the other hand, I have said I would do it for free, so he really doesn't owe me a thing. I guess. I like that pay, too.

Tonight we are going to go to a party at a co-worker's house. She is not one of my favorite people, but I don't want her to know that. And I'd like to see this cute little house. Mark's going, too, so I hope he can meet some of our co-workers. I hope they are going to be there. It will be weird and awkward if no one is there. I hope it is a great crowd, we can eat a little, visit a little, and then bail after an hour or so. I don't anticipate it being "fun." Just duty.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland