Saturday, Aug. 19, 2006 12:37 pm

Busy week is over

This has been a busy week. I hate busy.

The show Wednesday was sparsely attended, but it was a really good show. I enjoyed it a lot. I had the drummer on my show that afternoon instead of the lead singer. I wonder why he didn't want to do the interview? He missed out. Chris and I had a fabulous time playing Buddy Holly and Elvis Presley and their own music and talking about all sorts of things. He's one of those cute, interesting guys that I love having on my show. He's also married and has five kids! Don't know how a family handles that at all.

After the show Wednesday we went up to see Mark and the band play for a bit. The troubles with Mr. Apple must have been resolved because he was there working and singing, too. I need to ask what happened with that.

I did answer the bitch's letter with a full denial of anything derogatory said on the air. Next I got a "this matter is over" kind of letter, which at least ends it. I kept waiting for my boss to come and say "What was this all about?" but he didn't. Sometimes his ignoring emails is a good thing. Another of the names she sent the letter to was our business (finance) guy at the station that I haven't even met and I didn't know who the other person on there was. I really hate that our new GM got it. She hardly knows me and she gets negative things right off the bat. Errrrrrrrrrr. The bitch said that someone had said I said "Too bad I didn't get paid" or something to that effect. Actually I think she said FOUR people had told her I said that. I expect that means that ONE person said something to her boss and her boss started riding her ass and she did this to cover. Weird all the way around and it still pisses me off. CONTRACTS. I will forevermore have a written signed CONTRACT.

Thursday I went to the new dentist. The cleaning and exam and X-rays was over $200 again. Yikes. I've spent too much money on my mouth this year. And it will be a LOT more next year. They gave me an estimate of about $2500 and insurance may cover about $1500 of that. I'll have to sign up for insurance and use my flexible spending account and get started on new crowns and fillings in 2007. I liked the finance lady at the office a lot (she listens to me!) and the tooth-cleaner (I can't spell the right word) was very nice, too. The doctor was in an out in a flash so I didn't get a good bead on him but my co-worker likes him a lot. My teeth hurt through the afternoon, though. I may have to plan for a day off for the future work, too.

I had two great interviews on Thursday and Friday. Both were songwriters that have had big national hits, even #1s. Both were so interesting and fun to talk to and they played a song on the air. I'm going to see their show tonight and I expect it will be very very good. I like seeing a show that is just for the listening.

I also went to see Ron White this week. (see what I mean about busy?) A saleswoman at work offered me tickets Thursday and I said, no, I was just too overwhelmed with work, but she insisted and I did want to see the show. Mark couldn't go so I got Frenchy to go with me and we had a really good time. Frustrated that I dashed downtown as quickly as I could but my old parking garage locks up and doesn't allow cars for the Paramount after 7 pm? What's up with that? I don't get what they are doing anymore. They charged for parking there last time I went to the Paramount and now I assume they still charge, but they don't even let late-comers in? But Frenchy works downtown and I grabbed her and she took me to her parking garage for a spot. I don't know where I would have had to park and walk from in this heat if she hadn't done that.

Last night I worked until 10 and then came home and today and tomorrow I am completely off to do whatever I want to do. I slept late. I meant to go downtown to the unveiling of the new historical marker for the Armadillo World HQ, but I couldn't make myself get up and go. Now I'm trying to make myself get out and weed the garden or water or do something productive.

And my nephew got off to college this week. My sister is just heartbroken, but she said she is getting better today. That would be so hard to let your baby leave the nest. She boo-hooed for a couple of days. My brother-in-law and other nephew went down there to have breakfast with him today and give him his new computer that arrived too late for him to take it. So now he will start classes Monday or Tuesday and get started on his path to med school. I have his mailing address so I need to make him a care package or something. And I need to get off my ass and get a present for the other nephew because he turns 17 this week and I haven't even gotten a card or anything.

Lots to do and I'm stymied about how to start. So, first, I will put on my shoes and go out to the front yard and survey the weed and drought damage and see what I can do.


Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland