2000-08-17 12:04 am

Sleepy overworked girl

I have learned this week that I would make a terrible ER doctor. Not that I had any ambition to become one.

This week I've been going in to work by 10 o'clock. Okay, okay, I know the world has to go to work by 8:30 or 9 but I'm not the world and this isn't their journal so if I want to complain I am going to.

My Baton Rouge radio station is having some back-to-school contests and asked that I come in during the day to take phone calls and be able to put the winners on the air when they win (yes, we have the capability to do just that---it is amazing). I thought it would be no big deal.

Each day this week has been an experience. I've worked out of five different studios and every day the control boards are set up differently and the phones don't work and I've had a studio full of people trying to get it fixed as the phone is ringing with contestants and no way to put them on the air. A nightmare each and every time. I've also been squeezing other shows in between the contests. That gets me out of the office earlier than usual but it is so "out of my element" that I can't stand it. I like things to remain the same, no change, no surprises, no challenges. I'm looking forward to Friday at 1:50 when these contests will be over and life sort of returns to normal.

Friday I will be through early in the day and Mark doesn't have a gig. I'm thinking about asking him out on a date.

I rode a bike today. Mark had talked about selling the bikes but I didn't like that idea. Bikes were made for Austin. I could see me biking to the library or the store. Yes, that's me flying by on the bike in the bike lane. Hair flying in the breeze. Mark had the bikes out of the garage so he aired up my tires and I took it for my first Austin spin. Wheee! Down the street I flew and thought how fun it was. Should I go around the block or just come back up this block? I flew down to the stop sign and just turned to come back to avoid the busier street. Now, this is fun! Our Dallas street was just too busy to enjoy biking, this street is great. Nice and wide and carless. I made the turn, managing to turn and keep peddling without having to stop or fall off. I began the peddle back up the street. UP is the operative word. The street has a distinct hill that is hardly noticeable in a car or even on foot. On a bike it looked like Mt. Everest. I refused to get off and walk the bike home, especially when I was only two houses away and Mark was in the driveway where I could be seen. I biked. Probably slower than it would have been if I had walked. It was the first time I realized that my bike is a one gear only bike. Who thought of that? Not an Austinite, obviously. I may have gotten the biking out of my system and will allow Mark to sell it now. I like walking more anyway and I'm much better at it.

I'm going to go read my Bridgette Jones' book and go to bed. Nine o'clock comes awfully early, you know.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland