Sunday, Aug. 15, 2010 10:45 am

Post Reunion

Just stuck my head in here while click click clicking for something else to read on the computer (it is truly an addiction). I've been back from the reunion for a week and still have a ton of post-reunion things to accomplish. Mainly I need to clean up this office today and put things at least in the right place and I must type 3 reports for the doctors. I had lots of time on my own yesterday -- and I did clean house and do laundry and cook dinner --and I spent it mostly on random genealogy. I discovered lots on Grandpa Couch's sister that I hadn't known. She was disowned for getting married and I found where they lived and all their children. Very interesting stuff.

It has been a hot August, but it didn't get hot until August, so that's a good summer for us. It was very hot in Comanche and I felt it worse after I left, I think. I felt pretty lousy for a couple of days.

I guess one thing I need to put in this hidden diary that I won't put in any of my family letters about the reunion: My cousin Sandra asked to spend the night with me at the hotel on Saturday night. No problem. I thought I would enjoy having a better chance to visit with her since the reunion gets hectic. But o my freakin' lord.... she can talk and talk and talk. We got to the hotel about 930 pm and I'm sweating and exhausted and miserable grimy and she wouldn't stop talking. I gathered my pajamas and stood there trying to go get a shower and she wouldn't stop talking. She badmouthed Mexicans and blacks and the President (I told her to not do that and that I liked him) and told me gory stories about surgeries and suicides (that were completely unrelated to anyone I knew or cared about). I finally escaped to the bathroom and got a shower. Once she went to take a shower I went to sleep. In the morning I woke up and she was in the bathroom. When she came out I said, "Good morning." She said, "I haven't taken my medicine this morning...." and she was off. I scrambled and got dressed and got out of there and went to the reunion breakfast. I did my best to avoid her all day, which is meanness, but I had such an anger toward her after that. She did pay for the whole room, however, and she said I could just put her reimbursement in the family fund. I need to send them a check, I didn't have enough cash for that (I was going to put the room on my card, of course).

One of my writing friends is offering a writing course beginning at the end of September. I asked Mark if I could take it (not that I need permission) and he gave me 2 $100 bills to pay for it. How sweet is that? Of course, I may fudge and pay the AmEx bill with them this week and then send her a check from my paycheck that I will get Thursday.

I'd better get going on my typing and my day. Mark says he's going to go to the Citywide. I passed. No heat for me, no idleness today. I need to get busy.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland