Monday, Aug. 14, 2006 11:20 am

Reunion 2006

Dragging. That is me today. Shouldn't really be this tired because I did get a nap after we got in from Comanche, but I guess it was a busy weekend.

My cousins from the Valley came up Friday afternoon and got here about the time I got off of work. She had told me she was going to bring me "some enchiladas." She is Mexican and her sister is a caterer and a great cook and her sister was going to fix me some enchiladas. I expected maybe a small casserole dish of enchiladas. We got home and started to bring in the food... There were HUGE industrial size stainless steel pans of enchiladas, carne guisada, bifstek ranchero, rice, beans, hot sauce, plus homemade tortillas and chips. I, literally, could have fed thirty people well for dinner Friday night. Probably more, because I'd say we've had six or seven servings from it so far and we've hardly touched it. I froze some and will probably freeze some more, but we are eating as fast as we can, it is so good. Next time I'll clean the refrigerator out completely before they come!

They spent the night here Friday night. I showed the little 10-year-old girl pictures of the family and told her what to expect. They went on to bed early and I stayed up on the computer until Mark got in from his gig and fed him some of the Mexican food.

The reunion this year was good. I felt a little tied down with the cousins, since it was there first time. I had to do all the things to show them around and felt torn when I'd get into a conversation with someone and had my attention off of them. They were fine with it and had a good time. They were easy companions to travel with, that's for sure. But I do enjoy the trip up there alone. It is almost worshipful for me to drive through that countryside and imagine my ancestors living there.

I took them to a Dairy Queen in Burnet. Always love to stop at DQ on the road. Then we got to Comanche and went to the museum for the Newburg room (and ran into one of my listeners that had called and left a message on my office phone a couple of weeks ago), the house and the cemetery. Glad to see the house is all back in order again after the flood of last year. They have hardly had any rain since that time. The owners weren't there and they've built a big new family room onto one of the newer "wings." I think it detracts from the original, simple house, but I can still dream about the days that my great-great grandfather lived there with his parents and eleven brothers and sisters. It was a very different time. I talked a while with the caretakers about their horrific experience last year escaping from the flood. They are very nice, down-to-earth people.

Saturday at the reunion grounds was hot, as we expected, but it cooled when the sun went behind the trees. There were only two others from our branch Saturday night. The meal was wonderful. My pie didn't get eaten much (because there were others open and mine was under a cover) so I brought home a lot of it. Same with my cousins oatmeal cookies (which were so good... I'm eating them now for breakfast).

We went back into town to our bed and breakfast and they had a blowup mattress all made up on the floor. I slept with the little girl (a wiggle worm!), but we all slept pretty well. The room's price was still incredibly inexpensive, especially split between us, but they are already booked for next year so I have to find a new place! Shoot! I was counting on it.

Sunday's reunion was nice, but was getting hot about the time we left at 1130. Seven more of my cousins were there Sunday morning including a brand new 16 day old baby. She won the youngest of the family award. She was a precious thing. It was nice to see the four generations of that family.

I went around with my computer and put in family information and gatherered new stuff. Amazing how many unmarried people have children. I learned to ask, as people gave me stuff, "Is she/he married?" and then "Any children?" because they frequently weren't married, but did have the kids, sometimes with several last names. I think that is very sad.

My favorite encounter (since I am an attention hog) was a couple that I met from Austin. I told them where I worked and she was so excited to meet me. She listens to me every day and knew about the cats and she added, "And I was one of the people praying for you when you had your voice troubles!" Very sweet lady. I will try to get together with her again before the year passes.

The morning seemed to fly by, except for the bidding auction for the kids crafts. I wish they wouldn't do that. It is embarassing.

Oops, I got away from this before I finished and I need to go to work. Time flies.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland