August 14, 2003 11:45 am

Wake Up Grumpy (no let me sleep)

Oh, the joy of waking up when your body tells you to wake up and you wake up feeling good!

That was not the case this morning. Not an awful, alarm-clock-blasting, groggy-but-must-arise morning, but not a good one. I was sleepy, half-awake, but sleepy. Just wanted to lay there a little longer, maybe doze off just once into a slight stupor. (sniff) I ignore Mark's sniff. (hack hack) Again, eyes tight shut. (throat clearing... a little too long) I'm determined. (Mark reaches for the kitty and drags him up by us) I'm stone still. (Mark readjusts on the bed and bounces everything including kitty) I WILL NOT BE MOVED Then, "Uh, sweet girl?" Hmmmmmmmm "Can I ask you something?" Just ask it dang it. "Can I have a 'personal' day today to maybe run up to Dallas and do some drum business?" YES, dammit, but let me sleep! No, I didn't say that and by now it was obvious there was no sleeping to be done. So I bargained instead. Okay, if you get up and make the coffee NOW. He did. He's gone. I'm alone and now there is no time to sleep.

We had a big night at the cafe last night in our music series. My favorite, Ray Wylie Hubbard was the star. It was our first rain delay, but we got the show on and were only delayed about 30 minutes. We probably had him on the air a full hour instead of just 50 minutes, too, so the audience on the radio got a better show. It turned out really well and I'm so glad we didn't have to cancel. We haven't had a cancellation all year and I hope we don't.

Went out to breakfast with the sometimes creepy photographer. His wife is out of town, but he's being normal and not doggish. That is nice.

Tonight I have to go to another bar on the northside and judge a talent contest we've been sponsoring. I hope it goes well. I know the people competing are talented. It may be hard to choose. I think we use a numbering system, though, so there is no elimination, just adding up the numbers. I don't know who else is judging either. I hope they have ears.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland