Saturday, Aug. 13, 2005 9:57 am

Reunion procrastination

I am in dilly-dally mode as I prepare to go to the reunion.

I went to the Cactus last night for Robbie Fulks. It was incredible. Great opening from Dallas Wayne and then a terrific show from RF. I sat next to a couple that has followed him for years and they had him sing at their wedding! They were interesting and said he comes to Austin several times a year, so there will be more opportunities to see him. I certainly hope so. I don't want Mark to miss out on this. We even left before one last encore (or more?) and I got home at 1:30 a.m. Yes, then I began my baking.

I baked my lemon pound cake for the reunion, but I don't think it is good. I think the oil was old. I hate to use the term "rancid" because that sounds SO sickening, but I think it was. Therefore, the cake tastes kind of funny. I'm taking some of it to the reunion, but I may not tell anyone it is mine. Or I may not even put it on the table. We'll see. At least I can tell people "I brought cake." I don't have to say, "I put a cake out for people to eat."

I went to bed about 3:30 and didn't sleep worth a darn. I know I was awake for an hour or more. I wasn't even in that drift away/wake up type rest. I was just awake. Finally drifted off enough for the cat to come wake me up at 6:30. Just went ahead and GOT up at 7:30 and have been up and moving stuff into the car since then.

Everything is packed except the computer and stuff I need for genealogy purposes. I am taking the computer, but don't know if I'll even bring it out. I was unhappy last night... After scanning 125 photos to give to a cousin, I moved them all to disc. Well, the program didn't move their file names or descriptions or anything. I just labeled them #s 1 through 125. Now he won't know who these people are unless I go back and make a list with identification. What a pain. I'll give it to him, but it won't be as nice as the disc he gave me last time.

I was also close to perturbed last night when I pulled out my last backup of photos before the DELL COMPUTER crashed in February. I put that disc in this refurb Dell and it won't open or do anything. I put it in Mark's computer and I can look at them all fine. I don't know what makes the difference.

Next week I am seriously looking into getting a new PC for the house so I can work at home relatively assured that things aren't going to crater within minutes.

I won't be using bonus money to buy that computer, I'm afraid. My payday direct deposit is already in the band for Monday and it appears as if I DID get a bonus, but taxes take a much bigger hunk of bonuses than they do regular salary for some reason and it looks like it was whittled down to about 25% of what I grossed. Can't tell for sure until I get the paystub Monday. Maybe there was a mistake and it isn't all there or something. We'll see. I'm not going to worry about it today. I'm just happy the money is in there. I have some cash for the road, but I'd like a little more for security. There are always things to buy at the reunion and it is on a cash basis because it goes into the reunion fund. No charge cards there.

I'll have to afford gas this morning, too. Did I see something crazy like $2.49 last night at the cheap gas stations? Unbelievable!! I write that down so I can remember it one day. I hope I don't look back and think "Wow! it was not expensive at all!" I know gas was 1.29 on 9/11/2001. That's 25% inflation (very roughly) and that ain't good!

Okay.. procrastination has to end because I'm getting hungry and want to get on the road and get something to eat. I'm going to pack up the computer.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland