Friday, Aug. 12, 2005 11:28 am

Bucking Busy!

Time is continuing to slip away from me. I "had" to go to the Buck Owens Birthday celebration last night at the Continental. It was a station promotion. I don't mean I didn't WANT to go, because I did, but I'm so pressed for time I probably would have skipped it if I didn't have to be there. So I went, thinking I would slip out about 10. But, since fun is fun, I stayed past midnight. It was a great time. I knew lots of people and felt part of the gang. I met the sweetest little old man, too. He was a listener and I bought him a beer, which guaranteed his listenership for life. I stayed with him and his son and a friend of theirs for the rest of the night (someone to hand with always makes things better) and it was fun.

We got to make lots of fun of the Haggar twins. You remember them from Hee Haw days? I had been told they hadn't changed a bit. That was absolutely true. They are grey, and older, but their hair-over-the-ears haircuts and exact same receding hairline was still there. And one was devoid enough of fashion sense to wear his Hawaiian shirt tucked in---I hate that!! They seemed like interesting and likeable enough guys backstage (I didn't talk to them, just saw them interacting), but onstage it was back to the cornfield. As one of my companions said, "When you are reduced to telling Junior Samples jokes right after you're first song, you might as well check it in." Very very lame.

They, of course, were the poorest musicians of the night. All the others were incredible. I don't know how musicians and singers can get on stage and say "Shuffle in E" and then just GO. It is an amazing talent to just be able to play these songs that they have never rehearsed together and some that some members of the band might not have even heard.

So that fun is over and I can pack tonight, right? Well, no. I can't resist going to the Cactus to see Robbie Fulks. Since I am now in love with his music and he rarely comes to Austin (as far as I know, anyway), I am not going to miss the opportunity, even if it is a late night. Mark will be out of town so I'm going with our housesitting friend. And when I get home if I can, I will stay up and bake things then. Or I'll get into the kitchen right now and get started on that.... nah.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland