Friday, Aug. 11, 2006 11:01 am

Dad again and me too

Jason was on my show and was good. We had a good visit, on and off the air. A very nice kid who has been held back, to a degree, by his record label. I was glad to hear a little bit of confirmation on that because I've always thought he was more talented than his "place" in this business showed him to be. He had a good show Wednesday night but I had a killer headache and couldn't enjoy it. I don't know why I had the headache except maybe from sitting in the heat doing the countdown and not having anything to drink for that time. I may have been dehydrated from the day. Whatever, the headache stuck with me for 24 hours. I went out to eat with MM and Frenchie after the show to the s l o w Kerby and it stayed with me. I tried to go to bed and couldn't sleep because of the pain. I got up and let the neck massager work on my neck a long while and watched some TV. Then I got out the lavender oil and did some aromatherapy. Maybe that is what let me sleep. (and yes, I was taking ibuprofen and acetimenophen through all of this, too, and they weren't even touching it) Finally went to sleep about 3 a.m. and then woke up yesterday, still with a headache. Went to work with it and took a migraine Exedrine with the caffeine and the combo stuff and that maybe finally alleviated it. Anyway, I felt better by the end of my shift than I did at the beginning, but maybe that was because Kevin was on, too. He was fun to visit with. I like having him on and the phones and emails go crazy. It is amazing to see how much of a following he has. But somehow he and I talk over each other too much on the radio. I need to remember that and try to control it somehow. But it was a good hour of radio and we had fun.

Cotton attempted to throw me under the bus yesterday and he's not even back from vacation yet! The hometown calendar was dated and ran late in my show yesterday and the boss heard it on his long drive home (I sure wish he had a shorter drive to listen to me on!). He called and I pleaded ignorance. He called Cotton and Cotton said he had emailed me new copy (implying that I hadn't done it). I never got the copy, but (blaming HIM now) whether I got the new copy or not, he should have had a correct end time on his spot so that it wouldn't run when it was dated. So I recut the HTC so it would be correct until he gets there today and recuts it (or sends it to me to redo). The boss also called the head of promotions and she called our promotions director and she called me... so lots of hubbub and worry over a little dated spot.

Last night I baked pies for the reunion and made flower bouquets for the graves and made a couple of Texas flags for the graves. Glad to get a lot of that done. I think I'm pretty on-target for what needs to be accomplished. I don't know yet if I have clean clothes, but I'll pull that together tonight.

I need to go get an oil change.

Oh, went Frenchie and I went to breakfast Wed. night I asked her about this Louisiana artist that is bugging me on myspace. She said he is from her hometown and she knows him, but hasn't seen him in years, and "he could walk up and slap me in the face and I wouldn't know him." I asked if I could quote her on that. I will continue to ignore the guy for now, but she gave me the full scoop on him and his crazy sister (his "record promoter" that has been calling me).

I enjoyed breakfast with the girls and I enjoyed going to the Spoke with them, too, for a short while after our gig. I got to hug on Redd and Earl and Earl told me a couple of great June and Johnny stories from his past. And Pinetop played, too, which was fun to see.

I had lunch yesterday with B! and we talked and cried a tiny bit about her brother. They've found lots of friends and people who liked him a lot and had good stories to tell, so I think that has made them feel better about things. They still have a lot to do and she goes home on Monday. I hope I see her one more time between now and then. I sure miss her. The whole time we had lunch I would think of subjects to talk about in my life -- the band, work, the cats, gossip -- and it all seemed so trivial in comparison to what she is dealing with so I just let her do all the talking.

Dad had more "issues" last night. My sister called about 1030. I had the phone on silent and I luckily saw that she called only about 10 minutes after she called. She was on her way to Denton. Dad had been wobbly and had really high blood pressure so my mother had called my sister. Mother thought that she would drive Dad into the ER. NO! my sister said, call and ambulance. Okay, Mother said, I'll just go put on clean underwear and then I'll call the ambulance. NO! my sister said, call the ambulance and you'll still have time to put on clean underwear. So that's what happened and my sister headed that way, but the paramedics came and decided that Dad was just dehydrated possibly and would be okay at home. My sis went on up and got Dad some Gatorade and sent him to bed. She said she had her arm around him and he had his arm around her as they walked to the bedroom and my mother said, "Oh, I wish I had a camera, I don't believe I've ever seen you helping your father like this before." My sister snapped, "Where well in the hell have you been?" That's pretty funny stuff. The paramedics recommended that Dad go to the doctor this morning, so hopefully, the new caregiver will take him to the doctor and get him some Gatorade.

Mom and Dad both are fussing a little about the new caregiver. She makes $16 an hour and is supposed to work four hours, three days a week. Dad wrote me and complained that that was all they get in Social Security. I wrote back and said, "You mean to tell me the only income you have is $800 a month? We need to talk about your finances now or you are going to be in a world of hurt when we need to get more care for you." Of course, I know they have a lot of money in stocks that they aren't using yet and the last time I checked their bank balance, they had enough in there to for several months of her care even if there were no income. Mom has fussed some (in a sniping way) about the caregiver standing there talking while Mother is on her feet. I've told her (and so has my sister) that SHE has to be the one to just turn it over to the caregiver and sit and put her feet up. She doesn't have to wait for that lady to suggest it or make her do it. sigh. They are getting so old. Mom is cranky and Dad is depressed.

But I'm feeling more alive today than I have all week. I don't know if I just finally got rested up from the Sunday adventure or if the calcium is actually doing something. I was up later than Mark last night working on my projects and felt wide awake and this morning I still slept late, but wasn't groggy or dragging myself out of bed when I finally did get up. I'm pretty alert. This heat is enough to take it all away in a minute, I know. We think that is what happened with Daddy. They had gone for doctor visits for Mom yesterday and they were in town for quite a while and I'm sure Dad just sat there and didn't get any liquid for at least three hours and they were in and out in the heat during that. I bet it took its toll and he never went home and drank water or Gatorade and recuperated.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland