Friday, Aug. 10, 2007 11:06 am

Sick catch-up

I have fallen so far behind here. I am sick (really sick this week) and stuffed up. But, of course, I can't be "sick" at work because there is no one to cover for me. I had asked for today as a vacation day, but there was no one to work so they wanted me to track and have someone cover it and that seemed like more work than it was worth, so I said I'd just do it. I will, but I will go in a little later, I think.

Didn't go to big Buck Owens birthday last night because I knew I was pushing myself already. I went to bed by 11 and feel rested at least.

Yesterday I didn't get to sleep late after the late Wednesday night. I had to meet with a saleswoman and a BBQ joint owner in Lockhart about endorsements. The guy was a fat slob jerk and I didn't like him one bit. "I don't think I need advertising." and "Where's Craig Way." Asshole. Wasted two hours. I refused to eat lunch there. (not really, but since he wasn't buying, why bother). I bought Smitty's up the street and brought it home to Mark.

Mark has been super sick all week and stayed home (although he edged and mowed and trimmed and did lots of things he shouldn't have done while he was sick). He may be better today. I hope I am not getting laryngitis. I think I'm staving it off by not going out too much.

I do have my big reunion tomorrow and I'm not really ready for it and am not even sure I'll go. And if I go, I might just come home tomorrow night and not stay for breakfast. I haven't decided about anything at all.

I did go to Dallas over the weekend (thus, I'm sick) and we worked in that heat all day Saturday. I was so sick Saturday night I thought I was going to throw up. But we did make a lot of money and another guy had taken a lot of things to sell in other ways and he brought us a whole lot of money ($175 for that moldy old saddle amazed me). So we did well and my sister has charity and junk people getting the rest so all will be ready for closing next week.

We had had the whole sale and just opened the house to everyone and then Sunday went up to resort the leftovers. After all that inspection, my sister still found Daddy's box of silver coins and $2 bills in a box on a top shelf. We had ALL looked up there at one time or another, yet it miraculously appeared.

Mark's gig Monday was fun. A couple of men from Florida that I'd met before (one of them) were there to sit with. Dale's brother was there to play harmonica with them. The place didn't seem as crowded, but they did really well financially, so it was a good night. The city is changing some laws for BYOB clubs and I hope it doesn't hurt them.

Wednesday was a good show. We had Rodney Hayden, Adam Hood, and Josh Grider. I didn't feel good, but I enjoyed it. Good crowd for three lesser known artists. They built a big treehouse out there now, too. I didn't go up in it yet, but it looks cool.

Oh--- the thing that has really been preying on my mind this week after the visit up north. I stopped in to see my uncle in the nursing home. Daddy was his only friend and visitor and he is lonely, I know. I stopped in and saw him while I was in the neighborhood. He started talking about his family and history. And he talks about his baby sisters that died. Except he said "Daddy disposed of them girls!" He used that word twice and said "Daddy had them 8 sisters and he didn't want no more girls." How frightening is that??? I couldn't get him to say that they died or were stillborn, he only used the word "disposed." Eeeeee, I'm descended from a murderer? Creepy creepy.

And my cousins family that is so weird.... they cleaned and did all sorts of fixing up on my little cousin's house while she and her new husband were on their honeymoon. That all sounds lovely except that they threw out a lot of her clothes and THINGS... including a CAT! How heartless is that? They didn't think she needed her CAT anymore. That just shows to me how controlling and cruel her father is. He is in power and she and her new husband had better realize it. Scary. I'm glad my parents let me have my rotting, tumbledown, cluttered houses and didn't try to come in and change me.

I cannot breathe.... I don't want to be sick.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland