Thursday, Apr. 08, 2004 9:34 am

First night of the series

I did go to the east side on Tuesday night. Big crowd there, but mostly the regulars at a birthday party, no new musicians while I was there. I only stayed an hour. I sat across the table from a large black man in Sansabelt maroon slacks and a t-shirt, a white hat and shoes. He looked a lot like B.B. King... a big bodied man. The man was a stitch! He never stopped talking, or laughing, or shouting, or singing, along with the band. Trouble was, I never could quite figure out WHAT he was doing or saying. Honestly, he would be muttering along and then burst out laughing and I would laugh along as if I got the joke. Then more, "Yaiphenwegwipetopapheee Hallelujah! chekentiporiclamicak My wife in bastrop! hehehehehe hahahahahah wegilawimassatopotmia Las Vegas! condatataioinamet Shakespeare!" Honestly, the only words from the man's mouth I understood all evening were Shakespeare, my wife in Bastrop, Las Vegas, and Hallelujah. And "that's the blues!" which he would shout at appropriate moments. It made for an interesting night, but also uneasy because I felt like I should be able to understand this man and I couldn't. It felt like being in a foreign country and having someone keep talking to you in their language and all you can do is nod and smile.

Last night was the first night of our music series. Overall, it went very well and we had a huge crowd of 1500 people. Probably bigger than opening night last year, but we had more room at the cafe this time so they were able to spread a little more. I got claustrophobic, as usual, and had to talk to too many people and remember too many people and be charming. I was glad to leave. I missed the comfort zone I was in when it all ended last fall. I hope I have that comfort zone back soon. It should be okay and "normal" now that we got the first one out of the way.

I have to get dressed and get to work early again this morning. A photo shoot for things we're doing for the children's hospital in May. Don't quite know what, but I need to be there. I may go take myself to lunch afterward.

Oh, and I got demoted in San Antonio... Hard to not take it personally, but since they are still going to pay me the same amount of money for less work, I know they aren't doing it because they dont' like me. They are doing it to have a live body there at night for other reasons. I will still be doing a lot of the weekend shifts for them. But since it is the status and not the money that I crave when it comes to that station, it is kind of a blow, I'll admit. But then, it has taken so much time that I would not have completely minded if I had lost the station (and the money) altogether.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland