Friday, Apr. 07, 2006 10:41 am

Bruce

I had a wonderful birthday dinner on Tuesday night. Mark was extra sweet for my birthday this year. A gift and card on my day and then this great night out at Vespaio on South Congress. It's fancy. We should go fancy occasionally. We had drinks and appetizers while waiting at the bar and then more appetizers and salads and entrees and dessert and more drinks at the table. Great service, too. It was the great ending to a great birthday.

The lunch with Radney was very nice, too. He is so easy to talk to. We didn't have as many listeners participate as I would have hoped. People like to win stuff and then not show up. I wish they wouldn't do that, but I know the thrill of winning wears off when it comes to DOING something. I guess it is sort of like me and gift certificates... it is an obligation at that point.

Wendesday was a bizarre day. Bruce was going to be on my show. I left my cell in my car so I didn't get the message that he was going to be late. He called during my show to let me know he was on his way. He had been at the hospital with my best friend B's neice. She had tried to commit suicide! This is a little 14-year-old! It really shook me up. Bruce had taken his kids up to see her at the hospital. He told me more when he arrived for the interview. It was a really frightening thing to hear about. I, of course, was also wondering if B new and if I should call.

We had a great interview, though VERY fast. I think I covered all I wanted to. He had to rush off for the CD release at Waterloo.

The show itself Wednesday night was a ball. A great crowd, the weather was perfect. There aws one glitch I didn't know about as I did my opening, but since I didn't know about it, it didn't worry me. My voice was the best it has been in almost two years. People commented on it a lot. Mark said Sunny was around a corner and heard me and didn't know it was me because it was so strong.

I also got to catch up with my friend Connie. I hadn't seen him in a couple of months and it was our first real chance ever to get to visit. I was so happy to see him. We talked some before and during the show, but really sat down and talked non-stop an hour after the show. I'm excited to have him as a real friend now and not just once a week.

Bruce puts on a fabulous show and I love to watch him and his band. He is just so easy going and has so many great songs. I did a new thing with a little interview during the two minute break and it was funny and got cheers and helped bridge that little gap. Good idea!

Yesterday I had to worry more about B's neice. I emailed her brother with a cryptic message asking for their sister's number. He sent it and then he called. He filled me in on the details and assured me that B knew. So I called the sister just to let her know I was thinking of her and called B, too. She's coming to town next weekend, but I don't know if I'll be here and I'm sure she'll be pretty occupied with family problems. I had forgotten that her sister tried to commit suicide before this little girl was born, so this is a family with a big history of addictions and depression. Very very sad.

So, on to brighter things. I will drive to Dallas tonight to go on to Oklahoma with my sister and possibly my folks for my uncle's 80th birthday party. It will be a lot of fun. A long long trip, but not horrible. I'll take a bottle of Valium to dose up either my parents or my sister and I. Sometimes they are a little hard to take on a trip. I'm sure my sister will be more on edge, having dealt with them for the last two weeks at the doctor visits.

Mark's off for a couple of nights to Houston. I'm very very jealous. Tomorrow night they are playing after Robbie Fulks. I would LOVE to see that show. I'm jealous jealous jealous.

Oh, and we got another trend yesterday, the second of the Winter book. We were number one again. I wasn't thrilled with my numbers, but I need to examine them a little closer. At this rate there won't be a bonus next month. But our overall number for 12+ was better than we've had in the last couple of years (ever?). I now have the software on my computer at work so I can look at it all a little more closely.

Before || After
Older Entries
Book Club - Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014
A Good Saturday Ahead - Saturday, Jan. 18, 2014
Back to Work - Monday, Jan. 06, 2014
The New Year Arrives - Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2014
Engaged - Monday, Dec. 30, 2013
Links
Current
Older
JournalCon Austin
Design by Rachel
Diaryland